Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    5,583
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts

    Back up Outlook 2013 settings?

    All the tools I could find say they don't work with Office / Outlook 2013. Is there a reliable tool/way to back up 2013 settings short of a full system backup?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,374
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 594 Times in 531 Posts
    See Outlook 2013 Backup Add-In for a free tool on codeplex to backup pst files.

    Also see What to backup in Outlook 2013 for a comprehensive list of files that need to be backed up to back up an Outlook profile.

    Joe

  4. #3
    Platinum Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    5,583
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    I'll take a look. Thanks Joe.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  5. #4
    Platinum Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    5,583
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    Joe, I tried the add-in, but it kept telling me I needed a version other than 2013 installed. Oh well...

    Thanks though, Joe.,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  6. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,374
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 594 Times in 531 Posts
    Do you have the other required software installed - .NET 4.5 & Visual Studio 2010 Office tools runtime?

    Joe

  7. #6
    Platinum Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    5,583
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    Yes, both.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  8. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,374
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 594 Times in 531 Posts
    Are you using the "click-to-run" Office? You should post a question in the discussion section for that app at codeplex.

    Joe

  9. #8
    Platinum Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    5,583
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    Showing my ignorance here...I'm not sure what you mean "Click to run."

    I have NET 4.5 & Visual Studio 2010 installed. Office Tools?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  10. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,374
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 594 Times in 531 Posts
    Here's a link to download Visual Studio 2010 Tools for Office Runtime. Just because you have VS 2010 does not mean you've installed the Office Tools.

    Joe

  11. #10
    Platinum Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    5,583
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    Thanks Joe!

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  12. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,374
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 594 Times in 531 Posts
    "Click-to-run" is the version from Office 365. It is not the more familiar MSI deployment.

    Joe

  13. #12
    Platinum Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    5,583
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    I d/l and installed it. I got a message that it may slow Outlook's closing, and did I want to disable it. Also, since I had VS 2010 installed, it asked me to uninstall that version first, which I did do.

    Popups still coming...and they seem to ignore my settings for transparency and time: they are full-on solid and wait five seconds or so. Am I wrong or was the adjustment for those able to be set MUCH shorter? I seem to recall setting it and it "disappearing: as a result.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •