Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Problems having both Office 2010 and 2013 on a PC

    I installed Office 2013 as a free upgrade to 2010 offered when purchasing 2010, without removing 2010. Now default programme for applications is 2010, and i cannot select the 2013 version. It's been suggested to remove the 2010 version and do a repair install of 2013. Image before of course. Any comments?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,554
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts
    Do you mean select the Office 2013 version as the default for a particular file type? Or do you mean you can't even run an Office 2013 program?

    Joe

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger bassfisher6522's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    302
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
    I installed Office 2013 as a free upgrade to 2010 offered when purchasing 2010, without removing 2010.
    I'm confused by this as well. I've not seen nor heard of a free upgrade from Office 2010 to Office 2013 when purchasing Office 2010. Since the Office 2010 came out way way before Office 2013 or anytime for that matter (in the US). So when did you purchase Office 2010?

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West USA
    Posts
    511
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 44 Times in 44 Posts
    I got a free Upgrade from Office 2008 for Mac to Office 2011 for Mac when I bought Office 2008 about 4 years ago when I got my MacBook Pro. Can't recall which company I got Office from but it was not directly from Microsoft.

    The problem with two versions installed is getting the file type correctly associated with the desired program, usually requires getting the path to the .exe file from Properties of the icon/shortcut but it becomes more difficult with Office applications in that those Properties don't show that path to the .exe file such as winword.exe for Word. Going through the C:\Programs Files and/or C:\Program Files (x86) would be needed to find where the files are located.
    C:\Program Files is default on the 32-bit version of Windows.
    C:\Program Files plus C:\Program Files (x86) are used by the 64-bit version of Windows where (x86) is where 32-bit programs get installed.
    Office 2010 is the first to be available as either 32-bit or 64-bit, can be conflicts when installing the 64-bit version if the 32-bit version is already installed or vice versa.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I purchased Office 2010 from Amazon in the UK in i think Jan 2013. The purchase included a free upgrade to Office 2013 when it was released. As i recall a few months later a window poped up offering me the free upgrade to 2013 which i downloaded. I can open both versions of the programs offered by each version, however i cannot select Outlook 2013 as default for mail, only 2010 is available in the list of programmes. Similar with selecting defaults for documents and spreadsheets, only 2010 versions is available to select.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes to select Office 2013 version as default. I can run both versions of the programmes, but cannot for instance select Outlook 2013 as default, only 2010 version shows up in list of programmes. Similar with Word Excel etc

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West USA
    Posts
    511
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 44 Times in 44 Posts
    Which version of Windows? On Win7 I locate a desired file, right-click it and choose Open with... which gives a list of programs. However if I want something else I click on Browse to locate a different program, that's where knowing the path to or location of the .exe file for a program comes in. Office should have installed in separate Folders or maybe separate subFolders under Microsoft Office. The desired .exe file may be in a subFolder of Microsoft Office named Office14 for Office 2010 or Office15 for Office 2013. Each application in the Office suite has different .exe files according to their name.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,554
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts
    If you go to Start | Default Programs | Set your default programs and the Office 2013 programs appear in the list just select the program and make sure it is used as the default for all that can be set.

    Joe

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    In the default programs list only shows 2010 version as option as though it thinks 2013 does not exist even though it is installed

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •