Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 25 of 25
  1. #16
    3 Star Lounger KritzX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    380
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fascist Nation View Post
    The only popular app I know uses Java is OpenOffice and LibreOffice. Otherwise I see no reason to maintain it on a system unless you run an app that uses it.

    Flash is hard to avoid with all of the online video one comes across.
    As far as possible, I stick to MS Office, so I think I'm good there.
    Fact of Life:

    “Real stupidity beats artificial intelligence every time.”
    Terry Pratchett

  2. #17
    3 Star Lounger KritzX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    380
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    Intel's auto detect is another that requires Java, but until you need it then it's best disabled in browsers.
    I don't recall using Intel AutoDetect, like ever. So another no-no for Java.
    Fact of Life:

    “Real stupidity beats artificial intelligence every time.”
    Terry Pratchett

  3. #18
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Christchurch , New Zealand
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    To avoid updating two browsers .... 'remove' IE ... by unclicking it ..... here .... Control Panel / Programs and Features / Turns Windows features on or off ...

  4. #19
    3 Star Lounger KritzX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    380
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hitmaker View Post
    To avoid updating two browsers .... 'remove' IE ... by unclicking it ..... here .... Control Panel / Programs and Features / Turns Windows features on or off ...
    Thanks for your suggestion. However, I don't feel really good about disabling IE, as it is used behind the scenes for various stuff. Since I don't use that PC often, I've just set WU to Auto Update.
    Fact of Life:

    “Real stupidity beats artificial intelligence every time.”
    Terry Pratchett

  5. #20
    Lounge VIP bobprimak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Hinsdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    139
    Thanked 117 Times in 100 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hitmaker View Post
    To avoid updating two browsers .... 'remove' IE ... by unclicking it ..... here .... Control Panel / Programs and Features / Turns Windows features on or off ...
    The following post is only applicable to North American versions of Windows. See the end of this post for possible differences between US and New Zealand versions of Windows.

    This "IE removal" trick which has been around for years, does not remove or disable Internet Explorer.

    Parts of IE will still be available through things like Active-X, which also is needed for the desktop and the local Explorer to function. Among other things.

    IE is deeply embedded inside the Windows Operating System and never goes away. It will still need its updates.

    Further, IE updates come as part of the regular monthly MS Updates (and sometimes as out of band updates through the MS Updates mechanism. If you are on automatic updates, or if you ever manually run MS Updates (which we al know you must do) IE will get its updates along with Office and Windows.

    All you are doing with this trick is removing the desktop, taskbar and Start Menus Icons for IE. That is purely cosmetic.

    Articles like THIS ONE are misleading at best, and potentially dangerous to people with little or no tech knowledge. The methods in that article only remove the IE 9 or IE 10 UPDATES, which will return your PC to IE 8, and do NOTHING MORE.

    In North American versions of Windows, IE is not a separate program or feature. In EU versions, there is full choice of browsers, and removing IE is possible. I live in North America.

    I don't know about the localized versions of Windows available in Australia or NewZealand, but I get the impression they work like the EU versions. This is why Hitmaker's claim is not really false; it is simply region-specific and does not work in North American versions of Windows.
    Last edited by bobprimak; 2014-08-07 at 12:15.
    -- Bob Primak --

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to bobprimak For This Useful Post:

    Fascist Nation (2014-08-07)

  7. #21
    Lounge VIP bobprimak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Hinsdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    139
    Thanked 117 Times in 100 Posts
    As for Java and Flash Player and Google Chrome's native PepperFlash:

    Yes, Flash Player (Adobe version) has many security exploits. This is the primary reason it gets patched so often.

    Flash is aging technology. HTML 5 would have displaced Flash by now if such widespread embedded Web video players as JW Player did not use Adobe Flash as their basis. Flash Player has numerous ways to be hijacked to spy on people, even having the capability to take control of webcams and microphones. The embedded players won't display streaming video if ad blocking is active. Nasty stuff, but if you want to see online videos, I'd say over three-quarters of that class of content requires some form or another of Flash Player.

    Google Chrome's Pepper Flash plugin is basically Adobe Flash Player, with a NACL container around it. This allows limited sandboxing and some permissions restrictions. Good, but not entirely free of backdoors. And then there's the entire "Google Botnet" privacy concern, which you buy into just by intstalling Chrome on a Windows PC or device. Not a perfect world, by any means!

    Java in OpenOffice/LibreOffice is not needed for most of the features most folks will encounter during personal or small business uses. Java can be disabled for OpenOffice to test whether your personal or business uses require Java-dependent features. (Go to Options>>Advanced to unset or reset Java Runtime use.) If no issues happen, it is perfectly safe not to have any Java at all on a Windows PC or device. (Linux does need Java, but that's an entirely different OS environment with entirely different security concerns.) Definitely disable Java in all browsers through the Java Control Panel. Most likely, nothing you do on the Web will need it.

    I hope this clears up what Windows Secrets contributors have been saying for a couple of years now (mostly in paid content).
    -- Bob Primak --

  8. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bobprimak For This Useful Post:

    Fascist Nation (2014-08-07),KritzX (2014-08-07)

  9. #22
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,878
    Thanks
    68
    Thanked 559 Times in 506 Posts
    I don't understand all this paranoia about running Java. Yes in the past their were a lot of java exploits that took advantage of holes in Java, but I don't believe its a problem with the current version since they went to white listing where you have to approve each instance of Java code. I have Java enabled in all my browsers and haven't experienced any issues. I have a number of puzzle and game apps that use Java.

    Yes, if you don't have any web sites that use Java, I would not have it installed. But if you do run into a web site that uses Java, I wouldn't lose any sleep over installing it. Just keep Java up to date.

    Jerry

  10. #23
    3 Star Lounger Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    392
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hitmaker View Post
    To avoid updating two browsers .... 'remove' IE ... by unclicking it ..... here .... Control Panel / Programs and Features / Turns Windows features on or off ...
    That merely removes the start menu shortcuts to IE. In reality IE is required for Windows to function correctly.

    Several times I have had to reinstall Windows on customers' PCs after they had forcibly uninstalled IE (manually deleted IE files & registry keys). The next time Windows is restarted it will almost always crash with a BSOD during startup.

    For most users Windows Update should be set to "Install updates automatically", which will keep whatever version of IE is installed on the system updated.
    Computer Consultant/Technician 15+ years experience.
    Most common computing error is EBKACB: Error Between Keyboard And Chair Back
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  11. #24
    3 Star Lounger Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    392
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by KritzX View Post
    ...I never installed Flash or Java yet on this PC. It already came down with an infection once, thanks to Flash, and I'm really leery of installing it again...
    I have always had both Flash and Java installed on all my own PCs, but make sure they are updated as new versions are released.

    Almost all customers' PCs I work on have both Flash and Java and, as long as they are reasonably up-to-date, there is rarely any problems that can be definitely stated to have been caused by either.

    Flash is used on many websites, not only for video but also for those fancy animated menus etc, so it is almost inevitable that Flash is installed on your system even if you are not aware of it.

    Use of Java on websites is not really very common; however don't confuse Java with JavaScript. JavaScript is extremely common in webpage code.

    You can download/install the latest Java from: http://www.java.com/en/download/manual.jsp

    The Java FAQ is at: http://www.java.com/en/download/faq/whatis_java.xml

    The latest Flash Player can be downloaded/installed from: http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/
    Computer Consultant/Technician 15+ years experience.
    Most common computing error is EBKACB: Error Between Keyboard And Chair Back
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  12. #25
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West USA
    Posts
    614
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 58 Times in 57 Posts
    In reality IE is required for Windows to function correctly.
    To illustrate more of that interoperability you can put the path/address to a Folder or file in IE's Address bar to open Windows Explorer to that point, e.g. C:\Users\USERLOGIN NAME\Documents.
    Last edited by Berton; 2014-08-10 at 11:50.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •