Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: bad checksum

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    bad checksum

    4 year old foxconn diy box.
    flashed bios successfully 3.5 years ago and everything was fine.

    I have wiped HDD and reinstalled xp pro sp3 several times over the years. I decided that it was time again. Unplugged everything and air compressor blew out the box. plugged everything back in. On boot:
    cmos checksum error
    f1 run setup
    f2 load defaults and continue

    Ive never seen this before.

    f2 usually lets it boot into xp

    f1 I make changes, but on reboot it gives me the same error. On entering f1 again I see that no changes that I make stick.

    moved jumper to reset. Put jumper back and still have this issue. Battery was 3.08 volts. Still I tried a new battery. Still have the issue.

    old install of xp getting slower and more buggy, so decided to reinstall despite this issue. Reinstalled xp pro sp3 and my other programs early last month. Its much faster now and not buggy anymore, however I still have the checksum error, not that I expected this to fix it.

    ideas to fix checksum error??

    tks,
    pa

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    5,297
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked 605 Times in 548 Posts
    Probably a bad CMOS battery or battery connection:
    http://www.pcworld.com/article/24033...sum_error.html

    Jerry

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    4,380
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 306 Times in 288 Posts
    Sounds like new motherboard time to me.
    Before you commit, try disconnecting all the peripherals, hard disk, floppy etc and see it it still fails to save the settings.

    cheers, Paul

  4. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,655
    Thanks
    134
    Thanked 524 Times in 481 Posts
    Power down completely, remove and ensure clean battery contacts, then replace battery and power back up.
    Re-flash BIOS to same version you currently have now, or roll back to earlier version, then flash to current version.



    It could be a freak issue with the battery not properly contacting, corrupt CMOS, or a sign of the board going bad.
    I'd try the above first, then Paul's.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.


    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    4,380
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 306 Times in 288 Posts
    I'd try my suggestion first, then CLiNT's.

    cheers, Paul

  6. #6
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,655
    Thanks
    134
    Thanked 524 Times in 481 Posts
    Mine doesn't require taking everything apart.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.


    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •