Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts

    BIOS Version from Command Line

    Hey Y'all,

    Here's a handy way to get your BIOS version from the command line from Life Hacker. HTH

    Update: Here's even more information on WMIC.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    jwitalka (2014-08-10)

  3. #2
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,413
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Useful if you're in a desperate rush to determine your BIOS version (!), but of course this information is provided, among a whole heap of other Stuff, with most/all of the "hardware enumeration" programs, like Belarc Advisor, HWiNFO, and so on.
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  4. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,606
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 868 Times in 830 Posts
    And msinfo32

  5. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    wmic bios get smbiosbiosversion
    Nice one.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  6. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Also, try running systeminfo.exe from an elevated Command Prompt

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to usasma For This Useful Post:

    satrow (2014-08-13)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •