Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 54

Thread: Firefox crashes

  1. #31
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,622
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 232 Times in 227 Posts
    What's that "opene3d" ?

    Edit - if you can get it opened in Safe Mode again can you try resetting it to defaults https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb...-most-problems

    I don't think I've suggested for you using this tool but give it a go http://www.anvisoft.com/browser-repair-tool.html
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-08-16 at 09:56.

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    kennym8 (2014-08-16)

  3. #32
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    What's that "opene3d" ?

    Edit - if you can get it opened in Safe Mode again can you try resetting it to defaults https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb...-most-problems

    I don't think I've suggested for you using this tool but give it a go http://www.anvisoft.com/browser-repair-tool.html
    Just tried safe mode with networking..... all worked fine. I had reset FF earlier today. I left add-ons disabled. Then rebooted, opened FF, it crashed immediately before home page opened!
    I'll try the anvisoft repair tool next.

    Thanks!!

  4. #33
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    downloaded anvisoft repair tool - the free version for now. It went through the repair process, clicked finished, then the "repair" screen came back. I clicked it and the same number of "errors' for each browser was shown and supposedly fixed....
    Just opened FF, worked fine. Then closed it an clicked a link in Outlook to make FF open.... all OK!!!
    Maybe that worked?? I'll enable the plug-ins one by one and see. More news later.

  5. #34
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,622
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 232 Times in 227 Posts
    When you click on the FF icon in the left pane, you will see that it deals with two Flash problems, either of which could have been the cause of the problem - but will be keeping fingers crossed that Anvi did it for you.

    I only use the free version of anything

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    kennym8 (2014-08-16)

  7. #35
    3 Star Lounger KritzX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    378
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 41 Times in 41 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    What does that mean ? - not up with all of these abbreviations
    ROFLMFAO = Rolling on the floor, laughing my fu****g rearside off...

    HTH
    Fact of Life:

    “Real stupidity beats artificial intelligence every time.”
    Terry Pratchett

  8. #36
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,622
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 232 Times in 227 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by KritzX View Post
    ROFLMFAO = Rolling on the floor, laughing my fu****g rearside off...

    HTH
    Thanks KritzX - noticed you had modified it slightly

  9. #37
    3 Star Lounger KritzX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    378
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 41 Times in 41 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    Thanks KritzX - noticed you had modified it slightly
    Don't want to be banned now, do we? I love the Lounge too much, Sudo.
    Fact of Life:

    “Real stupidity beats artificial intelligence every time.”
    Terry Pratchett

  10. #38
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    When you click on the FF icon in the left pane, you will see that it deals with two Flash problems, either of which could have been the cause of the problem - but will be keeping fingers crossed that Anvi did it for you.

    I only use the free version of anything
    It looks like Anvi took care of the problem! I have enabled four of the plug-ins without problems. The other ones can stay disabled.
    You mention the FF icon in the left pane... do you mean in the Anvi app?

  11. #39
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,622
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 232 Times in 227 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kennym8 View Post
    It looks like Anvi took care of the problem! I have enabled four of the plug-ins without problems. The other ones can stay disabled.
    You mention the FF icon in the left pane... do you mean in the Anvi app?
    Yes, there's one for each browser it repairs and you can choose which options you want it to take care of by clicking on each icon.

    I think it would be best to enable all of the add-ons except Java just to eliminate them.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-08-16 at 17:32.

  12. #40
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    Yes, there's one for each browser it repairs and you can choose which options you want it to take care of by clicking on each icon.

    I think it would be best to enable all of the add-ons except Java just to eliminate them.
    One of the plug-ins is "Shockwave for Director"..... described as "Adobe Shockwave for Director Netscape plug-in version 12.1" I don't have Netscape, do I need this plug-in?

  13. #41
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,622
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 232 Times in 227 Posts
    Yes I have that one enabled and without it you could have images missing in web pages.

    An example is instead of an image you would only see a cross in a small black box.

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    kennym8 (2014-08-17)

  15. #42
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    OK, all except Java enabled, no problems encountered. Thanks for everything!
    I'll be posting something new in a few days... a teaser:... CVE-2013-3893

  16. #43
    3 Star Lounger KritzX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    378
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 41 Times in 41 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kennym8 View Post
    I'll be posting something new in a few days... a teaser:... CVE-2013-3893
    Hmm..I spy with my little eye...IE?
    Fact of Life:

    “Real stupidity beats artificial intelligence every time.”
    Terry Pratchett

  17. #44
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,622
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 232 Times in 227 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kennym8 View Post
    OK, all except Java enabled, no problems encountered. Thanks for everything!
    I'll be posting something new in a few days... a teaser:... CVE-2013-3893
    That looks like a driver update but would have to check - and you're welcome

    Edit - Ah, that's what it is - thought it looked familiar http://blogs.technet.com/b/srd/archi...available.aspx
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-08-17 at 12:35.

  18. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    kennym8 (2014-08-18)

  19. #45
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    That looks like a driver update but would have to check - and you're welcome

    Edit - Ah, that's what it is - thought it looked familiar http://blogs.technet.com/b/srd/archi...available.aspx
    I did the "fix-it" a few weeks ago. The CVE item still shows in Control Panel|Programs and Features in both laptops. I only did the "enable fix-it", not the "disable fix-it". Should I? Should I delete this in Control Panel? Does it affect anything if it is there? Should I just ignore it?

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •