Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts

    Runtime Error 383

    How do I correct this? It is runtime error 383. Mea culpa!
    Last edited by PCLearner; 2014-08-13 at 22:12. Reason: Error

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    723
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 146 Times in 132 Posts
    What was the message that accompanied it?

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    'Text' property read-only. OK
    It happens when I try to run Malwarebytes Anti-Malware.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,645
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 884 Times in 845 Posts
    This article should help with the uninstall/reinstall which is the usual fix, but the runtime error can have other causes http://www.techchore.com/2014/04/mal...ime-error.html

    It may also be prudent to run AdwCleaner should you have picked something up http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/adwcleaner/

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    PCLearner (2014-08-14)

  6. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    The tip paid off. Strangely the uninstaller with Win 7 and another installer would not remove Malwarebytes Anti-Malware.
    Thanks again.

  7. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,645
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 884 Times in 845 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PCLearner View Post
    The tip paid off. Strangely the uninstaller with Win 7 and another installer would not remove Malwarebytes Anti-Malware.
    Thanks again.
    If a program is running in the background then it can't normally be uninstalled in normal mode and if it can't be stopped in Task Manager, then booting up into Safe Mode with Networking is the next best option to using a program's uninstaller.

    Windows Uninstall tends to leave a lot of residue which is why I use IOBit Uninstaller which will pick up programs whether they are 32 or 64 bit based - unlike the free version of Revo and is a lot easier to use - but glad you were able to fix it.

  8. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    The normal Malwarebytes uninstaller does noy completely remove it. After running the uninstall, run mbam-clean to completely remove it:

    http://www.malwarebytes.org/mbam-clean.exe

    Jerry

  9. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,645
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 884 Times in 845 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    The normal Malwarebytes uninstaller does noy completely remove it. After running the uninstall, run mbam-clean to completely remove it:

    http://www.malwarebytes.org/mbam-clean.exe

    Jerry
    My first link in Post #4 includes a link for the mbam-clean.exe.

  10. #9
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    My first link in Post #4 includes a link for the mbam-clean.exe.
    I had no way of knowing that without reading the link which I didn't. As a moderater, I read almost every post on the board so I don't click on every link.

    By the way, if you want to switch from Malware Bytes Full Trial to Malwarebytes Free, you have to run mbam-clean.exe

    Jerry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •