Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Windows time

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Portland, OR, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Windows time

    I'm having to always manually set time (and sometimes date by a day) when I boot up Win7/64. After manually setting to correct time it will stay correct as long as I don't shut down. Usually the minutes are correct but not the hour or the AM/PM aspect.

    In my 'services' there is a Windows Time entry that is set 'manual'. When I attempt changing to automatic an error message appears:

    "Windows could not start the Windows Time service on Local Computer. Error 1079: The account for this service is different from the account specified for other services running in the same process."

    Event viewer gives no problem (unless I don't know what to look for - haha)
    I have already checked Microsoft's error code site and it basically says the same.

    I'm wondering if anybody could steer me into a solution to this.

    tia

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,645
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 884 Times in 845 Posts
    There's a MS Fixit in this article but you may want to have a look at the DIY section to see what it does http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2478117

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Verify that you are already set to sync time:
    Click on the time display in the task bar
    Click on Change date and time settings
    Click on the Internet Time tab
    Click on change Settings
    Make sure the box next to Synchronize with an internet time server is checked
    Pick a server on the next line
    Click on OK.

    Jerry

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Posts
    208
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
    Are you sure that your CMOS battery is in good condition?

    You can check it using the following procedure

    1. Go into your BIOS setup and set the time correctly or as close as you can. Use a source that keeps good time.
    2. Shut down the computer and disconnect the power cord from the power supply or at the wall socket.
    3. Ideally, wait overnight. Then reconnect power and go into the BIOS setup and check the date and time against the same source used in Step 1. If the date is incorrect or the time is more than a few seconds off, it would be a good idea to replace the battery.

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,203
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    I use the publicly available time servers at pool.ntp.org. See their web site at http://www.pool.ntp.org/en/
    How to for various OS is on the How to Use page.

    cheers, Paul

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Portland, OR, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Thanks Sudo

    That was one of the first things I tried --unsuccessfully


    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    There's a MS Fixit in this article but you may want to have a look at the DIY section to see what it does http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2478117

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Portland, OR, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks Paul. I did try all of the time servers already. My problem seems to be a service that gets hung up looking for something that's not running.

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    I use the publicly available time servers at pool.ntp.org. See their web site at http://www.pool.ntp.org/en/
    How to for various OS is on the How to Use page.

    cheers, Paul

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Portland, OR, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks jwitalka. I've done that. Error message - unable to open Windows Time Service.

    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    Verify that you are already set to sync time:
    Click on the time display in the task bar
    Click on Change date and time settings
    Click on the Internet Time tab
    Click on change Settings
    Make sure the box next to Synchronize with an internet time server is checked
    Pick a server on the next line
    Click on OK.

    Jerry

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Portland, OR, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks nate. I'll give that a try, but I think the problem is in services.

    Quote Originally Posted by nate01pa View Post
    Are you sure that your CMOS battery is in good condition?

    You can check it using the following procedure

    1. Go into your BIOS setup and set the time correctly or as close as you can. Use a source that keeps good time.
    2. Shut down the computer and disconnect the power cord from the power supply or at the wall socket.
    3. Ideally, wait overnight. Then reconnect power and go into the BIOS setup and check the date and time against the same source used in Step 1. If the date is incorrect or the time is more than a few seconds off, it would be a good idea to replace the battery.

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Right click Computer. Select Manage. Open the services node and check the logon account for the Windows Time Service. It should be the same as for the Windows Font Cache service.

    Joe

  11. #11
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    723
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 146 Times in 132 Posts
    As the CMOS battery (CR2032) only costs a couple of pounds and takes five minutes to replace, its always the first thing to change when you have clock errors. Nine times out of ten it will fix the problem.

  12. #12
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,421
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Calimanco View Post
    As the CMOS battery (CR2032) only costs a couple of pounds...
    Or you can get several of them on a card in a Pound Shop.

    Also note that you can get a more local version of the pool.ntp.org time servers.
    I use uk.pool.ntp.org
    Last edited by BATcher; 2014-08-16 at 06:27.
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,645
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 884 Times in 845 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Calimanco View Post
    As the CMOS battery (CR2032) only costs a couple of pounds and takes five minutes to replace, its always the first thing to change when you have clock errors. Nine times out of ten it will fix the problem.
    It's not always as easy as that if the machine is a laptop as on some models the CMOS battery is soldered to the motherboard and aren't CR2032.

    If it is a laptop then a Google for the service manual may negate the need to open it up just to find it's a repair shop job.

    While the Windows Time service is default set to Manual, you can change that to Auto and start it - go into Services by going Start - type services.msc and press enter.

    Scroll down to Windows Time service, right click on it and select Properties where you can use the dropdown to change the Start up type and click on Start and see what that does - that's if it isn't identified as a CMOS battery problem.

  14. #14
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,203
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    The error indicates that "C:\Windows\system32\svchost.exe" is attempting to run with credentials that are not the same as those already in use - svchost.exe provides a lot of the internal processes for Windows. To check what credentials are currently in use fire up Task Manager
    Select the "Services" tab.
    Scroll to "FontCache".
    Look in the "Group" column for the logon ID.
    Now look in Services at "Windows Time" and check the "Log on as" column. It should be the same.

    cheers, Paul

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •