Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Malwarebytes Database Update

    I've been running MBAM Premium for years on my Win7 Home Premium SP1 and it has always kept itself updated (and I rarely shutdown or reboot- only when things slow too much). Currently running 2.0.2.1012 and just the last few weeks keep getting a notice the database is out of date. Clicking the 'Fix Now' or 'Update now' button does no good - will only update upon reboot. Anyone else experience this and/or is there a fix/workaround? Thanks!
    Bill L

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,643
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 884 Times in 845 Posts
    MBAM tech support could have an answer for you but when programs become buggy, a reinstall is usually the best fix.

    You will need to run http://downloads.malwarebytes.org/file/mbam_clean to clean out the existing install before reinstalling.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger 1PW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    North of the 38th parallel.
    Posts
    131
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 46 Times in 28 Posts
    Hello smobertoday:

    We would like to help you on the Malwarebytes forum. Please register and open your own topic >>HERE<<.

    Thank you.
    All viruses are malware but not all malware are viruses and if the malware doesn't self replicate it just isn't a virus.

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    131
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
    On a side note, it's important to shutdown down your computer every so often (not sleep or hibernate) so that the programs, etc you run and that accumulate things such as temporary files, disk caches, page files, open file descriptors, pipes, sockets, zombie processes, memory leaks, etc will all go away with a complete shutdown.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,797
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by James S View Post
    On a side note, it's important to shutdown down your computer every so often (not sleep or hibernate) so that the programs, etc you run and that accumulate things such as temporary files, disk caches, page files, open file descriptors, pipes, sockets, zombie processes, memory leaks, etc will all go away with a complete shutdown.
    Its not as big an issue with Windows 7 or 8 as it was with XP. The only time I shut down my Windows 7 desktop or Windows 8 Laptop is to finish a Windows Update or driver install and I haven't had any problems. YMMV

    Jerry

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    I agree with Jerry. Windows has evolved into a much better system manager. I too only shutdown my machine when required to complete a software or driver update.

    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •