Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    288
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Epson XP-400: how to find its IP address?

    This should be simple. I have an Epson XP-400. It works great. I recently bought a Chromebook. Supposedly, the XP-400 can also serve as a Cloud Printer. In order to assign it as such, I need it's IP address. I have found some instructions that involve looking at the printer's control panel Wi-Fi set-up, but for some reason I cannot find the IP address.

    Can someone mention a way for me to get that information? Hopefully, after that, I can somehow get it registered as a cloud printer.

    Mel

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,418
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 597 Times in 534 Posts
    Check your router.

    Joe

  4. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,687
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 235 Times in 230 Posts
    Unless you have assigned the printer with a static IP address in the router, then the router will assign it with a DHCP one - much like it assigns your network adapters which can change whenever you switch your computer(s) on.

    If the printer docs don't have it's MAC address written down somewhere, then switch the printer on, log into the router and look for a DHCP Table/Connected devices.

    You will need this to assign the printer with a static IP address.

    You will also need to check the DHCP range that the router is using so as to use an IP address outside of that should the router assign the same one to any other device when that is switched on.

    The DHCP range could be from say 192.168.1.1 to 192.168.1.254 or part of.

    If it uses the full range up to .254 then you will need to reduce that so that you can use one from >=.200

    You'll probably need to refer to the router manual for those operations.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-08-15 at 16:35.

  5. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,662
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 531 Times in 480 Posts
    In Windows 7, you can open up Windows Explorer and the click on Network. If the printer has an assigned IP address it should show up in the right hand panel. Right click on it and select properties and you should see the IP address.

    Jerry

  6. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Halifax, Canada
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    When i setup 2 WiFi printers, I used the Belarc Advisor tool (network map link - on left margin) to identify each printer IP address.

    Then I reserved each IP address in my DLINK router's 'DHCP RESERVATIONS LIST'.

  7. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    288
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Jerry and vop:

    Thank you very much. Both methods (Windows Explorer and Belarc Advisor) worked.

    Now to look into setting it up as a Cloud Printer.

    Mel

  8. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    288
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    As a further update, I can now use the printer with my chromebook, despite the fact that it keeps asking me to upgrade the firmware. I started a separate thread on this, as it has nothing to do with this thread (ie: getting my printer's IP Address).

    Mel

  9. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,687
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 235 Times in 230 Posts
    The thing is with DHCP IP addresses is that they can change when you switch a device on so the IP address that you have registered the printer with may not always be the same and is why it's best to assign it with either a reserved address within the DHCP range or outside of it.

  10. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Halifax, Canada
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I posted the belarc method because the explorer method does not work for me on W7.

    Additionally, both my Wifi HP Printers provide a complete information and user interface for such matters as scanning, supplies status, and page count when I use a URL such as the following:

    http://192.168.22.197/
    Last edited by vopthis; 2014-08-16 at 06:24.

  11. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,687
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 235 Times in 230 Posts
    The Explorer method doesn't work for me either as Jerry has described it in Win 7 x64bit - it initially only opens Network and Sharing Center where I have to navigate See full map/Click here to see all devices and only then by right clicking on each device and selecting Properties will it open a small window where I can see the assigned IP and its MAC.

    I think Win 7 OS's are the same in name only.

  12. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    288
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Sudo:

    Windows Explorer seems to work regarding getting the printer's IP address. I wonder if it is a static address? I have tied it a few times (each time the system had been turned off and then turned on again) and it is the same address each time. Does that mean I'm set or might it still happen (ie: change of ip address).

  13. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,687
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 235 Times in 230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by compiler View Post
    Sudo:

    Windows Explorer seems to work regarding getting the printer's IP address. I wonder if it is a static address? I have tied it a few times (each time the system had been turned off and then turned on again) and it is the same address each time. Does that mean I'm set or might it still happen (ie: change of ip address).
    A DHCP IP address can change at any time.

    When I switched my printer on today, I noticed it had been assigned with 192.168.1.2 which previously had been for the wireless adapter on another laptop and switching everything off and back on again, it retained the same address.

    I haven't done an ipconfig /all on the other laptop yet to see what that has now been assigned, but the D in DHCP stands for Dynamic which means things can change, so to pre-empt any future problems I would assign it with a static IP address.

  14. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    288
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Sodu:
    You are correct that my ip address is dynamic. Today, I turned on the printer first and then my computer. I found the printer's ip address was one digit off, compared to its address yesterday. However, there was no issue/problem printing to it via my computer (never has been a problem) and also via my new chromebook. So, although I registered my printer with google cloud services via my previous ip address, it worked fine today. I assume everything is now set.
    I still keep getting the message to update my printer's firmware, but I am hesitant to do that (if it ain't broke,...). I posted that on a new thread since that appears to be a separate issue. Any suggestions on that? Thanks for all your help!

    Mel

  15. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,687
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 235 Times in 230 Posts
    The printer could be picking up its WiFi signal from the router.

    These guys who play League of Legends etc. have to set up a static IP address when they Port Forward because of DHCP, so it may not be the Cloud that is enabling printing.

    I normally update firmware when it's available, which is usually for my Billion BiPac 7800N router but can be from Toshiba for my laptops, but I always have the previous f/w and saved Config to fall back on for the router - don't know how you would back up a printer's existing f/w, but contacting Epson to see why it needs a f/w update would be one step if you are concerned.

    Someone may have experience of this f/w update on this forum http://forum.printercomparison.com/epson/
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-08-17 at 12:07.

  16. #15
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,662
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 531 Times in 480 Posts
    You should be able to reserve an IP address for your printer via your router effectively making it a static address. Here's how it looks in me Netgear router:
    router.JPG

    Jerry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •