Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Uninstall Service Pack 1 in 7

    I have tried to do this soooooo many times, I can't count them. Even through cmd. I either get a failure due to "updates not being removed" when using Uninstall Updates, or nothing when using cmd, but silence. I am trying to a non-format fresh install like Fred suggested, but the SP1 has to go first. Any suggestions would be welcomed,
    Thanks

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,662
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 531 Times in 480 Posts
    Download the Windows 7 ISO with Service Pack 1 and use that to burn an install disk following Fred's directions. Just make sure you have your Product ID.
    You can find the Service Pack 1 iso download links here:
    http://www.techverse.net/download-wi...icial-servers/

    Jerry

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    rpinsc (2014-08-19)

  5. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Jerry, do I understand that this install program with SP1 will not make it necessary for me to uninstall my current SP1 and I can select Upgrade???? Sorry, "Yes we have no bananas" I hope I was somewhat clear.

  6. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,662
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 531 Times in 480 Posts
    Yep. If you have SP 1 installed, you should be able to do an Upgrade install over your current installation with the DVD created from the appropriate iso from my link without uninstalling SP 1 first.

    Jerry

  7. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    JERRY-----YOU THE MAN----I had to be quick on setup, my win7 was tattered.

  8. #6
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,662
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 531 Times in 480 Posts
    Glad to hear it. Using the SP1 iso saves reinstalling a lot of updates even though you still will have a bunch.

    Jerry

  9. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    153, "Important" ones, to be exact. Should be done before bedtime

  10. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Jerry,
    another issue has happened. win 7 says during updates it is at Stage 3 of 3, 32% complete for about 2 hours. Something seems stuck. Turn it off and reboot to safe, or what?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •