Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Multiple computers using same usb storage device for Windows System Image

    Hi,

    As per my title does anyone know if this is possible or does a different usb storage device need to be used for each machine?

    I use Windows 7.

    Thanks,
    TonySyd

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    You can do that, but likely one machine at a time and changing folder names as you go. Seems Windows System Image creates a folder with the same name: WindowsImageBackup. This means you would likely need to change this name back and forth, as you backup each machine, so that only one WindowsImageBackup folder exists at a time and that folder matches the machine you are backing up. Probably you could have a folder named after each machine and you change this name to WindowsImageBackup as you image that machine.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ruirib,

    Thanks so much for your prompt reply. I'll give the changing folder names a go and see if that works.

    Regards,
    TonySyd

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    You're welcome.

    Regards.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,610
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 870 Times in 832 Posts
    I use an external HDD for my system images and they are auto saved under the computer's name, so you don't need to change any names or create any folders to put them in unless you want to keep earlier images and date them, as each one is overwritten with the new one for that computer - but the HDD would soon fill up unless you delete the earliest one prior to creating the new one.

    Mine currently has the images for 4 laptops on it and when I need to restore with one, I have to do it through the Recovery Environment and select Restore from an Image I made earlier.

    It normally auto suggests the latest one created but if that is for a different computer, you just click on choose a restore point and then highlight the one you want.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-08-20 at 03:43.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •