Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    replace default grids

    I have a section that lost the standard grids lines. If I add lines using "format/borders", the grid lines are different than the default grid lines. How can I replace these grids without deleting the cell themselves?

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,227
    Thanks
    202
    Thanked 794 Times in 728 Posts
    Skipro,

    Try selecting the area where the grid lines are missing.
    Right-Click then select: Format cells -> Border
    Under Presets click the None box.
    Click: OK
    Borders.JPG
    This should reset all the lines leaving just the background grid.
    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  4. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks RG but this did not work. The reason I lost the grids is that I color filled the area and that removes the grids. To re-ask the question, how do I color fill and not lose the grids?

  5. #4
    WS Lounge VIP sdckapr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    11,225
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 341 Times in 334 Posts
    A fill hides the grid. If you follow Retired Geeks Instructions you can add borders to those cells which will be over the fill and act as a grid.

    Steve

  6. #5
    Bronze Lounger Maudibe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Pa, USA
    Posts
    1,206
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 231 Times in 212 Posts
    Skipro,

    Try highlighting the cells then press:

    Ctrl-Shift-7

    Followed by:

    Ctrl-Shift- <underscore>

    That should reset it.

    Another option would be to use a keyboard shortcut (eg, Ctrl-z) to run a macro that uses the SendKeys method to send the key combinations above. Place in a standard module.

    Code:
    Public Sub ResetBorders()
        SendKeys "^+7", False
        SendKeys "^+_", False
    End Sub
    On the Developer tab> Macros> select "RestBoarders"> click Options> Enter a "z" (without the quotes)> OK> Cancel. Now Highlight your affected cell and press Ctrl-z

    HTH,
    Maud

  7. #6
    Bronze Lounger Maudibe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Pa, USA
    Posts
    1,206
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 231 Times in 212 Posts
    Sorry, following RG's lead.

    to put the borders back in place you can use the following combination sequences:

    Ctrl-Shift-7
    Ctrl-Shift->
    Ctrl-Shift-<
    Ctrl-Shift-7

    or same thing as hold the ctrl-shift then press 7, >, <, 7

    or the following code:

    Code:
    Public Sub ResetBorders()
        SendKeys "^+7", False
        SendKeys "^+>", False
        SendKeys "^+<", False
        SendKeys "^+7", False
    End Sub
    Again, set this code to run with the keyboard combo Ctrl-z.

    HTH,
    Maud

  8. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks everyone for your input but I did not state my question clearly. I am trying to replace the "default" grid which apparently is not an option in "format/borders". Is this possible?

  9. #8
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,227
    Thanks
    202
    Thanked 794 Times in 728 Posts
    SkiPro,

    As Steve said in post #4 fill hides the grid.
    If you want borders similar to the grid in a fill area:
    LtGreyGrid.JPG
    Use these settings:
    NewBorders.JPG
    Otherwise, I for one don't know what you are asking. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  10. #9
    Bronze Lounger Maudibe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Pa, USA
    Posts
    1,206
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 231 Times in 212 Posts
    Skipro,

    Although I can't duplicate it now, I have seen this happen that after performing some function, the gridlines disappear leaving you with a block of white area. It has nothing to do with filling the cells with a color, it seems almost random.

    If you go to an unused section of the sheet and copy a range of cells then paste over the missing cells by Right click>Paste Options: Formatting, you should get your borders back. Paste Formatting will not paste over your data just the formatting

    Maud
    Last edited by Maudibe; 2014-08-22 at 17:02.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •