Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Window 8.1 install freezes at 82 percent when i restart

    First off, I'm not at all good with computers, so you might have to simply this for me. My computer recently crashed so I had to restore it. Well after updating everything, I noticed it didn't update to Windows 8.1, just 8.0. SO, I installed 8.1. It said to restart. When I do, it freezes at 82%. I had to unplug it. I looked online to figure out what was wrong and it told me to command prompt and see if there are missing files. There were but it couldn't fix them. I then found out I had to save some SFC thing to my desktop. I did that it was blank-it said nothing. Is there anyone that can help me or figure this out? My computer is running bad and wont get past 82% to update windows to 8.1 after I restart . Thanks.

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    3 Star Lounger KritzX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    378
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 40 Times in 40 Posts
    Hi and welcome to the Lounge!

    For how long was the system frozen before you decided to pull the plug?

    After unplugging and restarting, did the system boot as normal? Or is it still frozen at 82%?

    From where did you run SFC?
    Fact of Life:

    “Real stupidity beats artificial intelligence every time.”
    Terry Pratchett

  4. #3
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,604
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 522 Times in 471 Posts
    Are your user directories on a different drive than the Windows directory?

    Jerry

  5. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    It was frozen for about 45 minutes the first time. This happened a few other times as well, so again, I stupidly pulled the plug. Oddly freaking enough, I just tried again after posting and it somehow upgraded me to Windows 8.1! Since my crash last week, I've been experiencing a lot of waiting forever for my yahoo mail to open. I am using Mozilla and my homepage is yahoo(it freezes and takes almost a minute to load after much refreshing. On top of this, for the last few months, we've had problems with "missing plug ins" when my kids are playing games online....I need to go back to college and take some computer classes I think.. Is there any way to find or fix any problems with my PC by running something? As you can tell, I'm computer illiterate.

  6. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Jerry, not sure what that question means exactly, but if you're asking if we changed anything weird and put things on separate drives, no.

  7. #6
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,604
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 522 Times in 471 Posts
    Yes, that;s what I meant. The upgrade doesn't support user directories in a location other than the default ones. Glad to hear you managed to complete the upgrade.

    The missing plugins could be Adobe Flash (http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/) and/or Java (http://java.com/en/) If you download either of these, be careful to uncheck the box next to the Optional Software offer on the Adobe Flash download page and any addtional software or toolbar offers during setup.

    I would also recommend you download and run:
    Malwarebytes Free (Decline any offer to run the full trial during setup) www,malwarebytes.org
    AdwCleaner http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/adwcleaner/

    Jerry

  8. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Jerry. I did all that. The only problem that I notice now is that every time I click on my Mozilla to get to yahoo, it still takes forever to load Yahoo...sometimes it wont load, sometimes it will but only by refreshing it many times.. Is there any reason this is happening? It didn't seem to do this before my computer crashed..

  9. #8
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,604
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 522 Times in 471 Posts
    Does this just happen in Firefox or does it happen in Internet Explorer as well.

    Also, try starting Firefox in Safe mode and see if the problem still occurs:
    https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb...+mode&r=1&as=s

    If Yahoo starts normally in Firefox Safe Mode, try disabling your add ons in groups until you find the culprit


    Jerry

  10. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I tried that and it didn't work. It seems to freeze when loading in Mozilla mostly, but sometimes in IE as well. This whole week, whenever I hit yahoo, the circle spins and spins and spins....not until I refresh it a few times does it work.... Sometimes it will work, but usually it takes forever....I've also just noticed that the green circle next to the Yahoo in my tab, is ALWAYS spinning. It doesn't stop even if I've been on the page for a long time... It never did that before..
    Last edited by lancej; 2014-08-26 at 16:05.

  11. #10
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,604
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 522 Times in 471 Posts
    Did you update Flash?

    Jerry

  12. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I did Jerry. I guess we'll see how things go. Any suggestions for college classes to take regarding this. I hate not knowing about things i.e. computers, and would love to be able to never have to ask these questions online

  13. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Yahoo has been slow, it is not your computer

    Quote Originally Posted by lancej View Post
    Thanks Jerry. I did all that. The only problem that I notice now is that every time I click on my Mozilla to get to yahoo, it still takes forever to load Yahoo...sometimes it wont load, sometimes it will but only by refreshing it many times.. Is there any reason this is happening? It didn't seem to do this before my computer crashed..
    Yahoo mail has been intermittently slow. It is not your computer.

  14. #13
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,604
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 522 Times in 471 Posts
    You might want to try Adblock plus to see if the delay is cuased by fetching ads.
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fir.../adblock-plus/

    Jerry

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •