Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Monitor - best settings automatically set by Win XP?

    Hi - Had to switch to a different monitor: plug and play Dell and am finding the display rather annoying. I'm tryng out Resolution of 800 by 600, which is too big, but 1024 by 768 is a bit too small, and I can't get any other choice. The slide bar doesn't slide...

    Is there somewhere in Windows that I can click to have Windows adjust for best settings?
    Thank you.

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger KritzX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    380
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
    Have you tried updating your graphics card driver? That should allow you to choose a better resolution.
    Fact of Life:

    “Real stupidity beats artificial intelligence every time.”
    Terry Pratchett

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    If a resolution is too small there's a setting that allows a higher sizing of text.
    Resize text.jpg
    And there's another setting for icon size.

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for the suggestion, but I am looking for a permanent fix.

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks. Will check that out tomorrow. Appreicate your suggestion.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    Monitors run on native resolutions. You should not be using different resolutions to boost viewability. Berton's suggestion is the way to go. I have to admit with your present old OS and low resolution settings I wonder if you have a netbook or an old CRT monitor?

    https://www.microsoft.com/enable/products/windowsxp/

    https://www.microsoft.com/enable/training/windowsxp/
    Last edited by Fascist Nation; 2014-08-26 at 20:41.

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you for your post. In Device mgr under Display Adapter is Radeon 7000/Radeon VE. Is this the correct item to try to update? A search for Radeon tells me its discontinued.
    (No, not a netbook,nor CRT)

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    If you have an LCD monitor you should run it at the resolution recommended by the manufacturer. If the recommended resolution does not appear in the drop down for the monitor then the last driver update from AMD for a Radeon 7000 is at http://support.amd.com/en-us/downloa...eon-prer300-xp.

    Last, use Berton's suggestion in post #3 to adjust the text size.

    Joe

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you, JoeP--- I dug out an old shipping order from Dell and the monitor is an anolog flat panel and the video card is integrated intell ,extreme graphics IV (430 3900). I tried to search for that on I'net, got nowhere.
    As I said, in Device Manager, I see Radeon 7000.
    Am I safe to see if I can update that? The Monitor had shipped with Dell 2400 Dimension and is now hooked up to Dell Optiplex GX240
    A search on I'net didn't yield any results for best resolution...

    Thank you for your time

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    If you have the monitor model number you can check at Dell. A user guide should be available which will have the recommended resolution. If you know your Radeon drivers are not the last version you can go ahead and give the update a shot. NOTE: at various times AMD has issued problematic drivers. You may want to backup your system before attempting the update.

    Joe

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Again my thanks.

    The manual suggests 1280 x 1024. I, as noted, only have option of 1024 x 768 or 800 x 600. I tried to download an updated driver from Dell, but was unsuccessful. I searched for Driver on C: and only came up with DriverCure. The location suggested by Dell was C;\Dell\Driver\R74922 which is not on my PC....

    Windows update driver dialog didn't change anything.

    So, will just have to manually adjust text size per Web page, my text pages.

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Download it from AMD using the link post #8.

    Joe

  13. #13
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    It's been awhile and I don't have an XP system to check but I think if you Go to Display Settings. Then click on Advanced Settings. Under Monitor you can uncheck Hide modes that this monitor Cannot Display or Under Adapter Click on list all modes and then you can set your desired resolution.

    Jerry

  14. #14
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi, Jerry. If Hide modes... is unchecked, the window says "clearing this may lead to unusuable display and/or damaged hardware," so that doesn't seem right for me...

    I have done some research on AMD and I think I read that a .Net Framework version higher than mine (2) is needed, but I cann't find that page to verify my memory. Would you know about this?

    My thanks!

  15. #15
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,486
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 574 Times in 478 Posts
    Revisit Dell and download/install the correct monitor *.inf files (drivers) so that Windows can utilise it fully (resolution and refresh rate).

    Windows will also need to 'see' the monitor, that's where graphics and chipset drivers come into it.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •