Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    New Lounger
    Thanks

Word 2010 .docx model with graphs and tables imported and linked from excel for further uses

Hi, I'm a newbie. I'm Italian so sorry for my bad English. Firstable I want to thank you for this useful forum.

I use office 2010.
    I have a problem. I analise lots of data in Excel (file A.xlsx) than I have to produce a summary Word document (file B.docx) with tables and Graphs.
    Of course I want to keep .docx always updated so I link the tables and Graphs in Word from Excel.
    I use "past special" and "paste link like an image".
    Field LINK (ex. {LINK Excel.Sheet.12 "C:\\...).
    All it's ok.

Now I have to do this several times for several Customers with some kind of different data.

I copy both files (A.xlsx, B.docx) to another folder in my hard disk. I modify the Excel data (A_mod.xlsx) and I should want to keep the Word file B_mod.docx automatically updated with A_mod.xlsx data.

I edit manually (with alt+F9) the fields strings...but nothing happened...Word still points to A.xlsx data.

I Try method described in
    http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...External-Files
    but nothing happened.

Please help me...I'm desperate.

How can I reach my goal?
    Edit field string seemed to be a good method but it doesn't work...
    Do I maybe use a different method from "paste special"?
    Last edited by chiccomarad; 2014-08-28 at 12:56.

Super Moderator
    Thanks
    Alt-F9 toggles the field codes but doesn't refresh/update the field result.

Did you update the field after editing the field code? You do this by pressing F9 when the field is selected.
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

Super Moderator
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by chiccomarad View Post