Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 26 of 26
  1. #16
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,620
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 231 Times in 219 Posts
    Your ISPs DNS boxes are probably not updating, or not updating some entries, so once the entry's time to live has expired it is jettisoned. If you had the time (and inclination) you would have found other entries missing as well, just not ones you use.

    cheers, Paul

  2. #17
    3 Star Lounger KritzX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    380
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
    Well that makes sense, Paul. Thanks for your reply.
    Fact of Life:

    “Real stupidity beats artificial intelligence every time.”
    Terry Pratchett

  3. #18
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,194
    Thanks
    201
    Thanked 785 Times in 719 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by KritzX View Post
    @RG
    Why was windowssecrets.com the only page that was affected? If it was a problem with my ISP's DNS server, why weren't none of the other web sites affected? Perhaps you could help me solve this mystery, RG?
    Sorry, but I don't have a clue!
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  4. #19
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,287
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,154 Times in 1,063 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by KritzX View Post
    @RG

    Nope, Time Warner isn't my ISP. Also, I did ask this question but I didn't get an answer:

    Why was windowssecrets.com the only page that was affected? If it was a problem with my ISP's DNS server, why weren't none of the other web sites affected? Perhaps you could help me solve this mystery, RG?
    Different DNS entries have different times of life, as Paul's reply suggested. You just found out one that likely expired and your DNS server failed to renew it. It could also be that Windows is keeping some of your other entries in the local cache and thus resolving the name is not required for them. So, there are several possible explanations for that fact. If you get one name resolution failing, it doesn't mean all others will fail, too.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  5. #20
    3 Star Lounger KritzX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    380
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Sorry, but I don't have a clue!
    No need to apologize!
    Fact of Life:

    “Real stupidity beats artificial intelligence every time.”
    Terry Pratchett

  6. #21
    3 Star Lounger KritzX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    380
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    Different DNS entries have different times of life, as Paul's reply suggested. You just found out one that likely expired and your DNS server failed to renew it. It could also be that Windows is keeping some of your other entries in the local cache and thus resolving the name is not required for them. So, there are several possible explanations for that fact. If you get one name resolution failing, it doesn't mean all others will fail, too.
    Thanks for your reply, Rui.
    Fact of Life:

    “Real stupidity beats artificial intelligence every time.”
    Terry Pratchett

  7. #22
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,620
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 231 Times in 219 Posts
    For the record, the WS DNS entry is as follows:
    Code:
    name			class	type	data				time to live
    windowssecrets.com	IN	SOA	server: ns10.dnsmadeeasy.com	86400s (1d)
    The Time To Live is one day so it doesn't take much of an issue to lose the entry from all DNS.

    cheers, Paul

  8. #23
    Lounger PamS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    KritzX, this website was down for me as well yesterday. I could access askwoody.com ok, but when I tried to come to windows secrets, I got the same thing that you did. Other website that I tried to visit worked just fine too. Thankfully I was able to get back here just now. And no I am not on Time Warner, I still love my dsl through our phone company! It is dependable Time Warner in our area is anything BUT dependable!

    Pam

  9. #24
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    242
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Had the same problem here in South Africa, could not access windows secrets website, but everything else was OK.
    All back to normal today.

  10. #25
    3 Star Lounger KritzX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    380
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
    @Pam and Dave,

    Glad to know I wasn't alone in this! Thanks for your replies guys.
    Fact of Life:

    “Real stupidity beats artificial intelligence every time.”
    Terry Pratchett

  11. #26
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West USA
    Posts
    502
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 44 Times in 44 Posts
    I also could not reach WS Friday PM and all day Saturday, just got it open a few minutes ago. I'm using Firefox 30, IE11 and SeaMonkey. No issues with any other site. No problem with my ISP and it is not one of the 'biggies' that have been mentioned. OSes are Win8.1, Win7, WinVista, Mac OS X Mavricks and Linux Mint 17.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •