New Lounger
    Thanks

Question Variable Graphic Mergefields

I'm looking for guidance on the most intuitive way to set up some variable graphic merge fields in Word 2010 for mac. I am a graphic artist by trade and am tasked with setting up some templates in word using a database.

Some background on the project: I have a excel database with maybe 50 columns and maybe 150-200 rows. This data represents specific paths through a college for earning degrees (classes, locations, prerequisites, etc). So, each row represents a different degree. I have included seven different columns that correspond to college locations where these degrees are offered; if the degree is offered at that college location, the cell receives an ‘x’. Multiple colleges can offer the same degree.

With that in mind, I would like to include a “logo” for each college that offers a specific degree. Again, some degrees will have multiple logos that correspond to the colleges where it is offered. All the logos are exactly the same shape and size.

I created a sequence of IF THEN ELSE fields that are formatted as follows:
    { IF { MERGEFIELD College_A } = “x” “{ INLCUDEPICTURE “/users/filepath/College_A.jpg” \d}” “” }
    { IF { MERGEFIELD College_B } = “x” “{ INLCUDEPICTURE “/users/filepath/College_B.jpg” \d}” “” }
    This repeats seven times for each college location

My question: is there a better way to make this function? A more simple script possibly? I’m having issues where each time I open the template, the fields need to be “rebuilt” to have the links appear and function. Also, I will need to distribute the template to PC users for end use.

I read the sticky about variable graphics and mailmerge and it got me this far but I’m coming up short with something that will function properly.

Silver Lounger
    Thanks