Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Unhappy Tiling Selected Application Windows

    Can someone tell me how to tile several applications in Windows 8.1? Not all open applications, but only selected ones. In older versions, you could click one taskbar icon, then Ctrl-click as many others as needed, then right-click and Tile or Cascade them. When I try to select in Windows 8.1, it won't select multiple items. I know about the snapping and Winkey+arrow tricks, but this doesn't help if you want say three apps side by side.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    2 things:

    1. In 8.1 you can have 3 things on the screen simultaneously... 2 Store APPs and the Desktop. This is accomplished via the Switcher Bar.

    2. On the Desktop, nothing has changed... see screen shot and you to this by Rt Clk the Taskbar.
    Screenshot (20).JPG

    Cheers,
    Drew
    thR0V6M5GG2.jpg

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks Drew. That tiles all open application windows. I'm after the option to select the ones you want as you could do in earlier versions of Windows. It's desktop applications by the way.

    Gordon

  4. #4
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Gordon,

    Either I've gone dumb & don't follow what you mean OR it can't be done; except by manually sizing & positioning the windows.

    Sarrwy

    Cheers,
    Drew
    thR0V6M5GG2.jpg

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I suspect the later!

    Say you have 6-8 applications running and you want to tile 3 of them to cover your screen so you can monitor them. In XP, you would click the taskbar icon of the first one you wanted, then hold down Control and click the other 2, just like selecting files in Windows Explorer. You could then right-click on one of the selected icons and choose Tile/Cascade/... Windows would then arrange the selected applications accordingly. Very handy feature. Looks like it's gone along with so much other stuff we used to be able to do with Windows.

    Regards
    Gordon

    Quote Originally Posted by Drew1903 View Post
    Gordon,

    Either I've gone dumb & don't follow what you mean OR it can't be done; except by manually sizing & positioning the windows.

    Sarrwy

    Cheers,
    Drew
    thR0V6M5GG2.jpg

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,725
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    You can right click on an empty part of the taskbar and choose one of those options, but it doesn't appear that you can do this for a subset of your open tasks. Mind you I had to manually set the windows back to their original sizes. Why not just do it manually - sometimes I want one at a smaller size than the others for example.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,335
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    For a specific subset, what happens if you have those "on screen" and the rest truly minimized when you use one of the arrangement choices from the taskbar? That works for XP and I think 7 but not sure about 8.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,751
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 650 Times in 573 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by F.U.N. downtown View Post
    For a specific subset, what happens if you have those "on screen" and the rest truly minimized when you use one of the arrangement choices from the taskbar? That works for XP and I think 7 but not sure about 8.
    That works fine in Windows 8.1 too.

    Bruce

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks!! That works perfectly.

    Regards

    Quote Originally Posted by F.U.N. downtown View Post
    For a specific subset, what happens if you have those "on screen" and the rest truly minimized when you use one of the arrangement choices from the taskbar? That works for XP and I think 7 but not sure about 8.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •