Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts

    Key Scrambler error

    I downloaded the latest version of Key Scrambler, which I assume applies to both 32 and 64 bit systems, installed the program, and then rebooted as the program required. However, as soon as I go to any website the program's tray icon turns red, and hovering on it shows that the program is then switched off. Also, at the top of the web page the Key Scrambler overlay says something about "Encryption error in module...".

    Additionally, when I tried to enter a search string in Google's search box, when Key Scrambler was working, the search words were encrypted by Key Scrambler, and to search I had to switch Key Scrambler off.

    If someone could tell me how to fix these problems I would be very grateful.

    Please advise.

    Thanks and regards, Roy
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger KritzX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    380
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
    Here's what the FAQ section of KeyScrambler said, regarding the "Encryption error in module..." error:

    If you haven't restarted your computer after installing or updating KeyScrambler, please do so. If you have Kaspersky 2009, ThreatFire or AVAST installed, please pause it, run the KeyScrambler installer again and reboot your computer. You can then resume your security program after the installation.
    Fact of Life:

    “Real stupidity beats artificial intelligence every time.”
    Terry Pratchett

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    KritzX, thanks but I had already done what you suggest. I unchecked the option to encrypt the spacebar, not expecting that to solve the problem, but it did. Who would believe it!

    Regards, Roy
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger KritzX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    380
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
    Glad you solved it Roy!
    Fact of Life:

    “Real stupidity beats artificial intelligence every time.”
    Terry Pratchett

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Yarra Glen, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    213
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 38 Times in 24 Posts
    Something weird is going on here. I use KeyScrambler and have the spacebar encrypted, and it works fine. In earlier versions I sometimes saw characters in search boxes etc. appearing in their encrypted form, but not lately. I could fix that by just restarting the program. Have you tried re-installing, or downloading a fresh copy of the installer?

    You are right, it applies to both 32 and 64 bit systems. On a 64 bit system, if you look in Task Manager or Process Explorer, you will see two copies of it running - one as 32, the other as 64. The 32 bit one is in Program Files (x86)\KeyScrambler\ and the 64 bit one is in Program Files (x86)\x64\ . Seems a bit strange, but that's how it is on my system anyway. Current version is 3.4.0.2.

    The comment about pausing your anti-virus may apply to other such programs as well. Have you tried pausing your anti-virus while installing?

    I also have the "East Asian Language" box ticked. Maybe that makes a difference?

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I also have the spacebar encrypted and generally no problems (Pro version, used on both 32 and 64 bit machines). However I have very occasionally experienced the scrambling of plain text in search bars or document writing, but normally this has gone after a reboot. So I would suggest 1. close and restart program or 2. reboot or 3. re-install with latest version.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •