New Lounger
    Thanks

"Internet Explorer stopped working"

HP Pavilion DV6000
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
    Processor: AMD A6-3400 APU with Radeon HD Graphics 1.40 GHz
    Hard drive; 625 GB, 63 GB used
    RAM: 4 GB

I am a professional PC troubleshooter. I've spent many hours on this trying to fix IE with many more steps that I have probably forgotten:

Error message:
    "Internet Explorer stopped working"....for three weeks. After two red X clicks it stops the program (IE all versions):

Along the way, I did the following in no particular order.

1. IE version 11: After much testing below, uninstalled using correct procedure (Windows features from CPL/Programs & Features).
    2. Originally I was advised that IE v10 was already installed, which is why I went back to IE v8 then IE v9, and now IE v10. Still getting same error message.

3. Removed all plug-ins, add-ons, extensions and toolbars.
    4. Reset to default settings. Changed the homepage.
    5. Google Chrome and Firefox work just fine.
    6. Turned off AVG (av software)
    7. Cleared programs from Startup.
    8. Cleared Temporary files using Ccleaner and other means. Also cleared the registry using Ccleaner.
    9. Ran Malwarebytes Antimalware; no threats detected.
    10. Ran sfc /scannow
    11. Uninstalled several recent Windows Security Updates.
    12. Uninstalled dubious programs: Magic desktop, Adobe Shockwave, etc.
    13. Updated Adobe Reader, Flash and Java to current versions.
    14. Ran Windows check disk (5-stage)
    15. Ran MSFT's FIXIT tools for browser to repair.
    16. Researched the Internet, expecially MSsupport for assistance. No special insight located.
    17. It will not boot to safemode (F8). Appears to be an HP convention for diagnostics.
    18. Looked at Windows Services. No special features turned off.
    19. The is a Recovery partion to Original Factory Restore and Minimal Restore (saves programs, I think). This might be the ultimate solution.