Thread: Bluetooth ?

New Lounger
    Thanks

Bluetooth ?

Ok newbie here needing help with Bluetooth. I am running windows 7 on an Acer Aspire I5,
    My laptop specs say it has Bluetooth and I want to connect my phone and a mouse so bought the windows for dummies book thinking it would explain in clear detail to a dummy like me. I followed the steps. "Establishing a Bluetooth Connection" SO step 1.... "1. Verify that your pc has Bluetooth working - Broadcasting so that other devices can see it." It says to open devices and printers and look for a Bluetooth device like the one shown in figure 2-7. then right click the Bluetooth device....... I do a search and my laptop cannot find either device. So This does not verify as per the instruction to see if Bluetooth is on and broadcasting on my laptop it is simply telling you how to connect to a device as there are no other instructions if the device cannot be located to explain how to verify Bluetooth is "broadcasting"

I need to know how to get the Bluetooth activated on the laptop... where and which folder/file it is in please as in pic 2-8 ( which come up ONLY when the Bluetooth device is found) which says allow Bluetooth devices to connect to this pc.

Would be very grateful for some help and clear instructions as to how to get to the folder. Many thanks for reading.
    Michael.

Silver Lounger
    Thanks
    Unfortunately some Notebook description of specifications leave out bits and pieces, I got a nice Gateway several years ago where the specs omitted the fact that Bluetooth was optional. Looking up yours on this page does say it has Bluetooth:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16834314150