Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: No sound on PC

  1. #1
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,722
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts

    No sound on PC

    Having just moved house, and also the fact the PC is in a room which will shortly be decorated, I decided not to hook up my 2.1 speaker system. I thought that I could just put up with the speaker in the PC pro tem. However, no sound is emanating from said speaker (I'm sure it did so at one time). I've had a hunt round but I can't find anything that seems to be muted, which I can unmute for sound. Where can I look next?

    I'm running Win 8.1

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Access,

    You didn't mention if your PC was a Desktop or Laptop. Many newer desktop computers no longer have speakers...cost cutting measure by manufactures assuming that everyone now uses external speakers. Check in Device Manager under Sound,Video and Game Controllers. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,722
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    It's me, I don't like laptops, so it's a desktop . I did say I had used the speaker before....

    Looked in device manager - got two high def audio devices (seem to be identical) and teh driver is up to date....

  4. #4
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Access,

    Try Control Panel -> Sound
    sounds.JPG
    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,722
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    Sorry RG, I'm not getting any sound, so this doesn't seem relevant - or am I missing something? . I have the same button ticked....

  6. #6
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Access,

    Did you check out the other tabs in the dialog? You can send test sounds via the Sound tab. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,609
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 870 Times in 832 Posts
    This may not apply to your desktop but a little while ago when I was cleaning up a relative's laptop I saw there was a red cross on the speaker icon.

    Having noticed this about a month earlier when having to do the same, I updated the driver - so I knew it wasn't that.

    The problem I was sorting was Internet connectivity because of a malicious add-on (again) and this time I ran AdwCleaner before attending to the audio and after running AdwCleaner, the red cross disappeared and audio was restored without the need to reinstall the driver.

    So while it could be coincidental that you have moved your system, you could have unknowingly picked something up and a scan may do it for you as well - either with Adwcleaner or another anti malware scanner.

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    718
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 144 Times in 130 Posts
    Have you checked the monitors own settings? The on board speakers may have been disabled.

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,842
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 174 Times in 147 Posts
    I'm not familiar with win 8 but in win 7 I had a similar problem and finally cured it by going to the "Playback" tab in control panel>sound and selecting the source I needed and making it the default source.
    Last edited by lumpy95; 2014-09-09 at 12:43.

  10. #10
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,722
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Access,

    Did you check out the other tabs in the dialog? You can send test sounds via the Sound tab. HTH
    OK, I did misunderstand. Yes I've checked all the tabs many times! The playback tab has this sound.png There's nothing plugged into any of the sound sockets.

    Sudo, I haven't got a cross on my speaker icon, but I will run adwcleaner (which won't hurt!).
    Calimanco, I'm not sure what you mean or where the settings might be....

  11. #11
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Access,

    May be time to crack the case just to make sure something hasn't come loose like a wire from the MB to the Speaker?
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  12. #12
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    718
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 144 Times in 130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by access-mdb View Post
    OK, I did misunderstand. Yes I've checked all the tabs many times! The playback tab has this sound.png There's nothing plugged into any of the sound sockets.

    Sudo, I haven't got a cross on my speaker icon, but I will run adwcleaner (which won't hurt!).
    Calimanco, I'm not sure what you mean or where the settings might be....
    There is a row of buttons on the monitor bezel, usually under the bottom edge. One will give access to the monitors menu.

  13. #13
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,722
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    OK, thanks guys. I suspect RG's right, it's a loose connection. I ran adwcleaner but it was clean (I run that and MBAM quite frequently).
    Calimanco, my monitor doesn't have speakers in it - I'm talking about the desktop internal speaker.

    I'll live without sound (which isn't particularly good quality) until I reinstall my 2.1 system.

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,371
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    Check loose connections, my new M/B came w/ a plug in speaker in a little baggy.
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  15. #15
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    718
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 144 Times in 130 Posts
    From Wikipedia
    "A PC speaker is a loudspeaker built into most IBM PC compatible computers. The first IBM Personal Computer, model 5150, employed a standard 2.25 inch magnetic driven speaker. More recent computers use a piezoelectric speaker instead. The speaker allows software and firmware to provide auditory feedback to a user, such as to report a hardware fault. A PC speaker generates waveforms using the programmable interval timer." (Translation, it beeps.)
    It cant be used as a replacement for external speakers.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •