Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Upstate NY, USA
    Posts
    192
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 8 Times in 4 Posts

    PSI alternative question

    I have issues with PSI almost every time I do Windows updates....the PSI icon is grayed out, it tells me I'm not connected when I am, etc., etc.,. It is also probelematic on my Win 8.1 laptop, not only on my Win 7 64 HPrem desktop.

    So I went to the PSI forum and one of the regulars there was recommending Heimdal Security as an alternative. Has anyone tried it or know how effective it is? TIA

    Diane P.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,484
    Thanks
    283
    Thanked 572 Times in 476 Posts
    Hi, Diane.

    Heimdal Free is very limited in the software it updates, on my system, Flash, MDAC and Windows Media Player only.

    The Pro version includes active outbound scanning and some blocking of 'bad' websites but as far as I can tell, it doesn't greatly expand on the software it can keep updated.

    So, no, it isn't really an alternative to PSI, better to investigate how to correctly install and use PSI?

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Upstate NY, USA
    Posts
    192
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 8 Times in 4 Posts
    Thanks....I'm glad I asked.

    I will research how to correctly install & use PSI, although I've been using it for several years now. I can't imagine what I'm doing wrong.

    I had a problem with it several years ago...it used to halt my system, but that hasn't been an issue for some time.

    I'll remove it with Revo for 100th time or so and reinstall again. Maybe it'll work again after this morning's Win updates that seems to have trashed the app.

    D.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,841
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 174 Times in 147 Posts
    PeachesP, Since you say windows updates trigger problems with PSI, my experience may not help you but it is something to be aware of.
    If you run MalwareBytes Free, it will also trigger problems with PSI. I had to go into settings on MalwareBytes and make an exception for PSI because it found "pups" in PSI and quarantined them. PSI keeps telling you that your not connected once those "pups" are removed.

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger 1PW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    North of the 38th parallel.
    Posts
    131
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 46 Times in 28 Posts
    As a useful alternative to Secunia's PSI, I've been giving KC Softwares' SUMo a try since they now offer a portable version, one without Relative Knowledge and is quite actively supported. As a free utility it easily out shines Heimdal Free and is easy to edit for monitoring non-mainstream applications.

    <http://www.kcsoftwares.com/?sumo>

    @lumpy95: IMHO it would be best to report any false positive PUPs found in Secunia's PSI if they are still detected by the latest database in Malwarebytes Anti-Malware. With the notable exception of some on-access anti-virus applications legitimate software usually doesn't need to be entered in MBAM's exclusions. A few of Nir Sofer's NirSoft tools are an example.

    Cheers.
    Last edited by 1PW; 2014-09-10 at 17:07.

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Upstate NY, USA
    Posts
    192
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 8 Times in 4 Posts
    Thank you to both posters.

    I do run MBAM, but I have the Pro version. I will look into my settings anyway and make the exception for PSI and see if that makes a difference when Windows updates again.

    I will look into SUMo.

    The uninstall/reinstall took 5 minutes and everything is now up and running properly.

    Diane

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    S.F. Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    735
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 80 Times in 78 Posts
    Diane,

    Many are having lockups with PSI v.3. You should try uninstalling, then installing the latest version of PSI v.2. I believe it's available on their site (or from FileHippo).

    Zig

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,841
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 174 Times in 147 Posts
    1PW,
    @lumpy95: IMHO it would be best to report any false positive PUPs found in Secunia's PSI if they are still detected by the latest database in Malwarebytes Anti-Malware. Legitimate software should never need to be entered in MBAM's exclusions.
    Your probably right but since the problem was remedied I just forgot about it until this thread came up.
    Zig,
    Many are having lockups with PSI v.3
    I've been running v.3 for some time now and I generally get a "not responding" when I right click and choose "ignore update" on some older software that has met "end of life" or on Win updates ( when I want to ignore an update for awhile ). If I wait for a little bit, PSI comes out of it on it's own. Evidently v.3 requires patience, LOL.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •