Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Creston, Br. Columbia
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    bitly going to error page

    I have a somewhat strange problem. 2 computers (1 XP - yeah I know it's old but it works)(1 Win7). Both run same version of FireFox -- settings same in both. Both run Comodo firewall. Both run Vipre antivirus. Both use same DNS servers. BUT ... when I click on a link to bit.ly 1 computer (Win7) always goes to a bitly error page. The other computer (XP) works fine. So far I have not been able to find anything in Win 7 machine which would contribute to this problem. Written to bitly support, but so far no solutions.... Al

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger SpywareDr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Riviera Beach, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    490
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 52 Times in 43 Posts
    1) Can you get to http://69.58.188.40 on the Windows 7 computer?

    2) What about https://bitly.com?

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Creston, Br. Columbia
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes on both of them.

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger SpywareDr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Riviera Beach, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    490
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 52 Times in 43 Posts
    Ok. If you temporarily change the DNS servers to

    8.8.8.8
    8.8.4.4

    can you then get to http://bit.ly

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Creston, Br. Columbia
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Still the same problem. ... Weird.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Creston, Br. Columbia
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    By the way ... the problem is the same out of Chrome and IE as well as FF.

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger SpywareDr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Riviera Beach, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    490
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 52 Times in 43 Posts
    What happens if you go to unblockanything.com, type in bit.ly (after the "http://www.") and then click "Browse"?

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Creston, Br. Columbia
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Goes to bitly home page. That works anyway. My problem is clicking on a bit.ly link in Tweetdeck, Firefox or other app goes to error page at bitly. ... copying the bit.ly link into the unblock site makes the link work correctly. ... So what is blocking link from one computer and not from the other?

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Creston, Br. Columbia
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Both computers use same ip # which is assigned to router.

  10. #10
    4 Star Lounger SpywareDr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Riviera Beach, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    490
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 52 Times in 43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by AlStewart View Post

    So what is blocking link from one computer and not from the other?
    Don't know yet, it's a bit hard to see what it might be from here.

    Click the Start orb, type cmd and press [Enter]. At the cmd prompt, type dir c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts and press [Enter]. To the right of the date and time stamp on the HOSTS file is a number which is the byte size of the file. What size is it?

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Creston, Br. Columbia
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    870 bytes.

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Creston, Br. Columbia
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Just looked in that hosts file. And it has two entries. One for bit.ly and one for j.mp to the same ip#.

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger KritzX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    380
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
    Perhaps, you could take a look at THIS MS article, and reset the HOSTS.txt file back to its defaults.
    Fact of Life:

    “Real stupidity beats artificial intelligence every time.”
    Terry Pratchett

  14. #14
    4 Star Lounger SpywareDr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Riviera Beach, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    490
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 52 Times in 43 Posts
    Yep, the original Windows 7 HOSTS file is 822 bytes ... meaning yours has something added to it.

    Here is a copy of the original:
    Code:
    # Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    #      102.54.94.97     rhino.acme.com          # source server
    #       38.25.63.10     x.acme.com              # x client host
    
    # localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
    #	127.0.0.1       localhost
    #	::1             localhost

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Creston, Br. Columbia
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Went to Microsoft support page ... ran the fixit file ... and that cleared the problem. Not sure how the extra entries arrived there ... but apparently they were pointing in the wrong direction. ... Guess I'll have to look up Google and see what the hosts file is supposed to be for. Never even looked at one before this.

    Thanks for your help.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •