Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Davenport, Iowa, usa
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Can't view videos on Facebook when using IE

    Sometime in the past 2 days something has changed as I can't view videos on facebook if I am on IE. Version 11.0.9600.17239. When I click on a video it acts like I am just clicking on a picture, but it is all black. If I use Chrome everything works like it is supposed to. I tried resetting the computer but that has not helped.

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger KritzX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    380
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
    See if this MS article is of any help.
    Fact of Life:

    “Real stupidity beats artificial intelligence every time.”
    Terry Pratchett

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to KritzX For This Useful Post:

    xyiegphriedt (2014-09-13)

  4. #3
    3 Star Lounger KritzX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    380
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
    Also, make sure you have the latest version of Flash, and if this problem occurred recently, you might want to try a System Restore, back to a point where the videos played properly. And if the update to IE11 is causing these problems, try rolling back to IE10.
    Fact of Life:

    “Real stupidity beats artificial intelligence every time.”
    Terry Pratchett

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to KritzX For This Useful Post:

    xyiegphriedt (2014-09-13)

  6. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Davenport, Iowa, usa
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I have checked the MS article, Have been using IE 11 for some time, tried doing a system restore. Nothing seems to change that I can't view videos if I go to facebook through IE. It all works well with Chrome. Maybe it is just a facebook thing with my computer. Sometime ago I couldn't upload pictures to facebook if I was on IE, yet it worked fine through Chrome. Guess I will just use Chrome.

  7. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,756
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 653 Times in 576 Posts
    Is ActiveX Filtering on or off?

    Bruce

  8. #6
    3 Star Lounger KritzX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    380
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
    1. Are you certain Flash is up to date?

    2. Have you tried resetting IE back to its defaults?

    3. Try running IE without add-ons. Click the Start Orb and type Internet Explorer (No Add-ons) and press Enter, to launch an add-on free IE.
    Last edited by KritzX; 2014-09-14 at 11:34.
    Fact of Life:

    “Real stupidity beats artificial intelligence every time.”
    Terry Pratchett

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to KritzX For This Useful Post:

    xyiegphriedt (2014-09-14)

  10. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,645
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 884 Times in 845 Posts
    Verify that Shockwave is installed and working and then use the link for Flash Player to ensure yours is up to date https://www.adobe.com/shockwave/welcome/

    Running IE without add-ons will disable Shockwave ActiveX Controller and that could compound the problems - resetting IE to defaults would be better, but you could give Anvi Browser Repair Tool a run to see if that can find/repair any faults, but click on the IE icon in the left pane to uncheck the option to default the home page before hitting the Repair button - otherwise you'll end up with MSDN http://www.anvisoft.com/browser-repair-tool.html
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-09-14 at 11:35.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    xyiegphriedt (2014-09-14)

  12. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Davenport, Iowa, usa
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    To everyone, I have tried all suggestions. When I click on a video it either shows a circle going around like it wants to load something or it will open a screen like when you click on a picture and it is just a black picture. I have had problems with Facebook before that start for no particular reason and they go away just as mysteriously. I think I will just leave it along and use Chrome when I need to use Facebook.
    Thanks to all for the suggestions

  13. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Davenport, Iowa, usa
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Everything is up to date. Flash player is the latest version, but I will still get messages on some sites that I need to update Flash. It isn't just Facebook. And after I update Flash Player I will get a message to update it again if I try to access a site that needs Flash Player.

  14. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,645
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 884 Times in 845 Posts
    Give either or both of these a try.

    IE > Tools > Internet options > Security > Reset all zones to default level

    Still under the Security tab > Custom level > scroll down to Automatic prompting for ActiveX controls and change to Enable

    Restarting IE after each.

    I think this command to re-register flash.ocx run from an administrative command prompt only works in Win 8.1 - it didn't for me in Win 7 x64.

    regsvr32 c:\windows\system32\macromed\fash\flash.ocx

    For 64 bit systems change system32 to syswow64
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-09-22 at 05:23.

  15. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Davenport, Iowa, usa
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Susan Bradley talks about Video-playback problems with Flash for IE in the latest WS newsletter. I have uninstalled flash player and redownloaded and installed it. When I use Control Panel to look at the programs I have installed I see the current version of Flash player installed today. When I check to see if Flash player is installed from the Flash Player help page, it says Flash Player is either not installed or not enabled. I have checked to see that it is enabled for IE and it is. So even though I have just reinstalled it and can see that it is there it is not being recognized by Adobe when checking for it. Also where is the update that Susan talks about?

  16. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Davenport, Iowa, usa
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Just wanted to give you the latest on resolving the issue with Adobe Flash Player. I have it working finally. Of course after much trial and error, deleting Flash Player folders, uninstalling and reinstalling, it now works. I have version 15.0.0.167 for IE installed and the videos in Facebook now also work. Unfortunately I can't give you a step by step in case anyone else has this issue.

  17. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,645
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 884 Times in 845 Posts
    I suppose as long as you get there, that's what matters.

  18. #14
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    723
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 146 Times in 132 Posts
    When using IE, if Flash Player doesn't work and you get a message saying you need to install it even though you know that its installed, always check that the ActiveX filter isn't turned on. Look in the Address Bar at the top right of the screen. You will see a circle with a bar across it. If its blue, the filter is on. Click on the icon and turn off ActiveX filtering. The icon will change to grey and Flash should then work.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •