Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Grand Rapids MI USA
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    How to bridge networks (maybe)

    I'm used to having a LAN with some sort of Internet WAN feeding into my router.

    I have two computers and a printer that are hooked up together over a LAN and still have access to the Internet (of course).

    A place I am moving to has wide area wireless with no router for it, as far as I know. I can see the wireless access on my phone.

    But my computers don't have wireless and I still want to have a local area network.

    So this is what I am wondering. If I buy two wireless usb adapters for my PCs, then they could access the Internet. But I have my printer set up as a network Ethernet printer. How would I be able to print from the internet (wireless adapter) to my printer (Ethernet adapter). Can I even use both adapters at the same time...my router, I guess, wouldn't even have a WAN connection, so I would still only have one connection to the Internet.

    I was wondering if I could bridge, essentially 2 networks so that my printer would work printing from, say, a browser. The local printing from my PCs to the printer, I assume, would continue to work as they always have.

    Another option, of course, is to scrap the LAN and connect the printer to each PC via USB cable and I would just have switch the cable from one PC to another when I want to use it. This somehow seems like going backward. I still have to talk to the Internet provider about this. It seems like they should provide some sort of box that I could hook into my WAN port on my router, but I don't know if that is how it works.

    I guess I just need to talk to them about it. The printer can be wireless as well, but that doesn't help me at all, since that is just a wireless connection to a router which assumes you have a LAN.

    Anyone else out there run into this type of service? Thanks.

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 986 Times in 916 Posts
    Buy a wireless access point with cable ports and connect all your gear to it.

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Seems you would need a router with WAN wireless access, something like http://www.tp-link.com/lk/products/d...del=TL-WR743ND. If it works to spec, it allows access to the internet through a wireless connection, while allowing you the establishment of your own local network.

    I have never used it, but it seems to do what you need. You should definitely talk to the person who is responsible for current setup, to check if they have experience in similar circumstances and to check whether a setup based on a router similar to the one I linked would work.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,078
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Starry173 might want to check the US version of Amazon instead of the UK version for that Netgear product.
    Last edited by Berton; 2014-09-14 at 10:19.

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Grand Rapids MI USA
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thank you all. This definitely gives me some leads. I appreciate it.

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Starry173 View Post
    Thank you all. This definitely gives me some leads. I appreciate it.
    Note re Paul T's #2 post: such a "wireless access point" would need to be able to connect wirelessly to an upstream WAN. The Netgear router on the Amazon webpage in Paul T's #2 post does not seem to have that capability.

    Note re ruirib's #3 post: the TP-Link TL-WR743ND does appear to be capable of connecting to an upstream WAN, so should suit your needs. However, you would probably have to uninstall/reinstall your wireless printer on each PC to work with the changed WLAN.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 986 Times in 916 Posts
    Coochin is right, my bad. Try the Netgear WN2000 for wireless connection of wired devices.

    cheers, Paul

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •