Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    New Lounger
    Thanks

This copy of Windows is not genuine message?

I have been using this copy of Windows for over 6 months and now get this message at the lower right hand side of the screen. When rebooted Microsoft has a dialog to click to get "genuine". Offers to download the tools to fix genuine issues. I followed the instructions a couple of times but the tools just sits there saying " this will take a few minutes don't hit the back button" for 30+ mins until I stop it. Anyone seen this?

Steve

Thanks

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Thanx for the reply. FAQ was good help, the other two are temporary fixes; I am trying to contact the vendor so see if there was an error on my part or to find out if they are legit. My copy of Win 7 has gone all this time and had no problems and I even activated this online and once when I had to change computers. I am copying the Microsoft Genuine advantage diagnostic dump to Microsoft support to see if I screwed up along the line. I will post the result when it happens.

St.

Thanks
    So where did you get your copy of windows from?

New Lounger
    Thanks
    http://www.softwareking.com/

I had emailed their support with no reply; I just emailed their sales email.
    When I enter the product ID in the Microsoft site it says that this version is not supported in this country? I don't know whose at fault but it is a big waste of my day.

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Sorry wrong site, it was this site that doesn't exist now 2 months later...

www.softdirectworld.com.

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    When you go to activate the product and it fails you should be given a phone number to call. Call it and explain the situation to Microsoft. They are generally helpful in this type of situation.

Joe

5 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Jack,

You may have been sold a volume license key, not intended for resale to an individual. Microsoft MAY help - good luck.

Zig

Thanks