Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 20 Times in 2 Posts

    Question Registry startup programs not starting

    I was wondering whether anyone could help me.

    Some of my startup programs have stopped starting automatically.

    This happened first when I upgraded from Win 8.1 to win 8.1.1 - I backed it out and reinstalled, and it seemed to fix it. But now it looks like some other windows update has clobbered it again and I cannot seem to work out why it has stopped.

    The programs are listed in the Startup tab of Task Manager and are shown as enabled. It looks like the HKLM and HKCU registry entries for "Run" are not being processed.

    Anyone got any ideas?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Are you logging in as the user for the HKCU entries?

    Joe

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 20 Times in 2 Posts
    Yes - this is my laptop - I am the only user.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Do they show up if you use a tool such as Autoruns or WhatInStartup?

    Joe

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 20 Times in 2 Posts
    Yes. In Autoruns they appear in the Logon tab.

    I also checked Local Group Policy but could find no policies which would prevent them running.

    I wonder whether it is a permissions thing on the Run registry entries. Can someone post their permissions from their own system so I can check?

  6. #6
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,761
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    By "startup programs", what do you mean exactly?
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 20 Times in 2 Posts
    I mean autostart programs - the programs in the registry entries:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVersion\Run

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Run

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,797
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    I assume the space in Curre nt is a typo?

    Jerry

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 20 Times in 2 Posts
    I copied and pasted these registry locations from Regedit. Not sure how the spaces got in there. Here are the strings pasted again...


    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Run

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVersion\Run

    There are no spaces showing when I pasted them.

    P.S. They are there in the same places again. Possibly a null character.

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVersion\Run
    Last edited by Protopia; 2014-09-24 at 10:30.

  10. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 20 Times in 2 Posts
    I have tried to get rid of the null character if it actually exists - but no change. (It could of course be something to do with my pasting here.)

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER \ Software \ Microsoft \ Windows \ CurrentVersion \ Run

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 20 Times in 2 Posts
    I put spaces around the \s and the inserted space disappeared. So probably something that this site does to ensure that lines without spaces don't get too long.

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Have you run a/v scans?

    Can you run the programs manually?

    Joe

  13. #13
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 20 Times in 2 Posts
    Yes. A/v scan (by ESET) is clear.

    Yes - I can run all programs manually.

  14. #14
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Can you post a screenshot of the Autoruns Logon tab?

    Joe

  15. #15
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 20 Times in 2 Posts
    Well - on the latest reboot it all started working again.

    It may have been something to do with the Intel Turbo memory in the laptop. I cleared and refreshed its content and it all started working again.

    Hopefully, some of the other recent glitches will also disappear.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •