Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Star Lounger Wiley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

    Desktop thinks it's a laptop

    My question is: where do i go to change that device setting from laptop to desktop?

    I'm working on a Dell Win7 Home. The problems with it is that the PC freezes up and won't come back without a 'hard shutdown'.

    I think the PC's problem is that under the devices cagtegory it shows that it's a laptop instead of a desktop.

    So the PC acts like it's in hibernation (but those power settings are set at never).
    i think the PC freezing up is generated by the internal laptop battery & harddrive protections.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,609
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 870 Times in 832 Posts
    Try a cold boot by removing all power sources then hold the power button in for 30 secs, but you may have to reset the BIOS.

    Is this someone else's machine with all deniability to doing anything wrong ?

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    There is a setting in Control Panel, Power Options where it can be set to Always On or other choices, one choice may be as a Notebook/Laptop.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Berton For This Useful Post:

    Wiley (2014-10-02)

  5. #4
    Star Lounger Wiley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

    solved

    http://support2.microsoft.com/kb/2403006

    Microsoft actually has a "Fix It" to solve this problem. It's metadata error with icons. Supposedly causes no problems on the device.
    Nobody seems to know the cause.
    My theory for cause is the WIFI confuses the PC, until recently WIFI was only on laptops not desktops, so when the PC connects via WIFI it thinks it's a laptop.
    But that's just my ACME theory.

    The freezing is caused by the hard drive. It failed Seagates Long test, it has bad sectors.
    The laptop icon was a distraction, just a test to see if I was awake.

    Thanks to Sudo15, and
    Thanks to Berton, you guys at least tried to help.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Wiley For This Useful Post:

    Sudo15 (2014-10-02)

  7. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,609
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 870 Times in 832 Posts
    That was a useful post in itself and thanks for the link.

  8. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    You're welcome, hope can do better next time.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •