Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    199
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    IE 9 on Vista with Google Toolbar not accessing selected overseas websites

    Hi,

    I am having problems getting to some overseas or maybe slower websites, which may not be the fastest responders. I select the website from favourites or a link, and after about 5 seconds I get a Google page with the website I have requested listed at the top of the page. If I select from the Google page, the same thing happens again, and I am unable to access the site because Google keeps interfering too soon.

    I have the Google Toolbar in use. I have tried temporarily disabling that with no effect.

    How can I stop or delay Google interfering, and get to the website I have requested?

    Any help much appreciated.

    Peter

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,748
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Try Tools, Manage add-ons, Search providers; uncheck Search in the address bar (at bottom left).

    Bruce

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    199
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Bruce,

    Thanks for your thoughts, but Search in the address bar ( at the bottom left) for Google search was already unchecked.

    Thanks again.

    Peter

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,188
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    Links to Oz are slow - possibly very busy - so you would expect overseas sites to be slow.
    I'd disable the Google toolbar to be sure that is the cause.


    cheers, Paul

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    719
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 144 Times in 130 Posts
    Install Firefox. If the sites open, the problem is with IE.

    https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/new/

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,188
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    Portable Firefox would be better for testing.

    cheers, Paul

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    199
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi,

    Thanks for the comments. Lack of response has been due to me travelling between Istanbul and Melbourne Oz - not just around the corner!

    Will follow up on the suggestions over the next week, and the first will be disabling the Google Toolbar.

    Thanks again for the suggestions.

    Peter

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    IE9 on Vista

    Quote Originally Posted by petermoran View Post
    Hi,

    I am having problems getting to some overseas or maybe slower websites, which may not be the fastest responders. I select the website from favourites or a link, and after about 5 seconds I get a Google page with the website I have requested listed at the top of the page. If I select from the Google page, the same thing happens again, and I am unable to access the site because Google keeps interfering too soon.

    I have the Google Toolbar in use. I have tried temporarily disabling that with no effect.

    How can I stop or delay Google interfering, and get to the website I have requested?

    Any help much appreciated.

    Peter
    IE9 cannot access many websites, I am always advised to upgrade, however IE10 cannot be used on Vista. I now use Google Chrome a lot of the time, until I upgrade my OS.

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    IE 9 is ancient, by Internet time standards. Use Firefox or Chrome and you should be fine. It takes a little bit of time to get out of your comfort zone, if you are used to IE, but the other browsers are pretty good and it's easy to get used to them. A few years ago I used IE almost exclusively, now it's my 3rd browser and I only use it to test websites in development.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •