Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,653
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts

    Installing Windows 10 to a VHD ** Check my last post **

    I came across this rather interesting blog which gives detailed installation instructions on how to install Windows 10 TP to a VHD.

    http://hyrokumata.blogspot.co.uk/201...l-preview.html

    I found it interesting as it introduced me to the world of VHD's and also worked 1st time.

    I now have a triple boot scenario of W7/W8/W10 without having to create a new partition for W10.

    I'm pretty sure there are other ways of accomplishing the same thing, if you know, please share!
    Last edited by Browni; 2014-10-30 at 11:54.

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Browni For This Useful Post:

    ruirib (2014-10-06)

  3. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Brownie,

    I also installed 10 on my laptop into a VHD using instructions from LifeHacker. Worked great.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  4. #3
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,378
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    I am a bit confused, nothing new there. That proceedure seems to boot the W10 install iso from disk but where is the Install part??


    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  5. #4
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,378
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    I also installed 10 on my laptop into a VHD using instructions from LifeHacker. Worked great

    RG
    I like the idea that brownie's link has of actually booting the VHD, I may try that again (tried it on my old system w/ an XP VHD and it never worked, maybe I needed something the old bios did not support). BTW I find my test install of W7 w/ a couple of utilities has half filled my 250 Gig SSD .


    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  6. #5
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wavy View Post

    BTW I find my test install of W7 w/ a couple of utilities has half filled my 250 Gig SSD .
    Wavy,

    They must be some whopper utilities. I had two installs (different partitions) of Win 7 HP SP-1 one with office 2010 Pro full install the other with Office 2003 Pro full install and Quick Books, both had all my other normal programs including MS Money, FF w/addins, Malwarebytes Pro, WSE, Chrome w/Chromecast software, etc. I still had room for my shared data partition. I'm just sayin'...
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  7. #6
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,378
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    I have been meaning to get back and look at just what is taking up so much space and...
    well I miss remembered; the facts: 57 gigs out of 238 is used. Still a lot for a month old system if you ask me! The big culprits are hiber and page files: ~28 GBs . I am breathing a sigh of relief, I don't want to shell out for a bigger ssd just yet. I will be looking into bbearen's techniques ,for when I do the keeper install. The page file is likely set too big by default and the hiber file will be deleted as it will be unused.






    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  8. #7
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Yes, that is a very cool & rather clever & easy way to run another OS in a machine. and w/ no need for a drive or partition for it.

    Here is another way...
    http://www.forumswindows8.com/tutori...per-v-8940.htm

    I am writing this in & while, indeed, running Windows 10 x64 on a VM in Hyper-V. I, also, built a x86 VM of it just for the heck of it; my preference always being 64.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    Windows 10OS.jpg

  9. #8
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,653
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wavy View Post


    I am a bit confused, nothing new there. That proceedure seems to boot the W10 install iso from disk but where is the Install part??


    The imagex command installs the Windows image into the VHD and Windows completes the installation when you boot to the VHD.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Browni For This Useful Post:

    wavy (2014-10-09)

  11. #9
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,378
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    The imagex command installs the Windows image into the VHD and Windows completes the installation when you boot to the VHD.

    Ah ha ! Thanks Browni

    Here is another way...
    Drew is that available w/ W7 Home edition?
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  12. #10
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wavy View Post

    Ah ha ! Thanks Browni


    Drew is that available w/ W7 Home edition?
    No. For that you use Microsoft VPC. Free download.

    Cheers,
    Drew

  13. #11
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,378
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    For that you use Microsoft VPC. Free download.
    Likely I will just stick w/ VirtualBox and maybe the VHD boot option just for kicks.
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  14. #12
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,653
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    Came across a problem with using the method in my OP, for some reason you cannot upgrade to a new release of the O/S.

    Technet link
    Last edited by Browni; 2014-10-30 at 11:51. Reason: Tidy link

  15. #13
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Brownie,

    I also installed 10 on my laptop into a VHD using instructions from LifeHacker. Worked great.
    And, Bruce, did it work great when going to a next Build, namely to 9860??

    Cheers,
    Drew
    Windows 10OS.jpg

  16. #14
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Drew,

    It updated just fine once I found out you didn't do it through Windows Update but rather via:
    PC Settings | Update and Recovery | Preview Builds {thanks Joe!}.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  17. #15
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Drew,

    It updated just fine once I found out you didn't do it through Windows Update but rather via:
    PC Settings | Update and Recovery | Preview Builds {thanks Joe!}.
    I asked due to reading people saying it won't update to a virtual drive or if on a virtual drive. Obviously, as I would have expected, it does. VHD or VM, should do on both & you have confirmed it does. Thanks, Bruce.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    Windows 10OS.jpg

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •