Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts

    Windows 10 Privacy issues

    Don't use the Windows 10 Preview for sensitive information.
    In the Technical Preview's privacy statements, it states:

    When you acquire, install and use the Program, Microsoft collects information about you, your devices, applications and networks, and your use of those devices, applications and networks. Examples of data we collect include your name, email address, preferences and interests; browsing, search and file history; phone call and SMS data; device configuration and sensor data; and application usage.
    For example, when you:
    ·install the Program, we may collect information about your device and applications and use it for purposes such as determining or improving compatibility,

    ·use voice input features like speech-to-text, we may collect voice information and use it for purposes such as improving speech processing,

    ·open a file, we may collect information about the file, the application used to open the file, and how long it takes any use it for purposes such as improving performance, or

    ·enter text, we may collect typed characters and use them for purposes such as improving autocomplete and spellcheck features

    See http://lifehacker.com/windows-10s-ke...-pr-1642931793
    for more information.

    Jerry

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Jerry,

    I also couldn't find a way to install the Tech Preview w/o using a MS account as a login! Has anyone else found a way?
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,746
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    System requirements

    A Microsoft account

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...orum&#faq=tab1

    Bruce

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Just like in Windows 8, when you get to the sign in with a Microsoft Account page, click on create new Microsoft Account. On the next page you get an option to log in with a local account.

    If you already created a Microsoft Account sign in and want to change to a Local Account:
    Win key +c
    Settings
    Change Pc Settings
    Users and Accounts
    Click on Disconnect under your log in

    Jerry

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    RetiredGeek (2014-10-07)

  6. #5
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Jerry,

    Thanks, I'd forgotten about that.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  7. #6
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    You're welcome RG. At my age I forget things as well....

    Jerry

  8. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    I initially logged in with a local account but later changed it to a Microsoft Account to make it easier to pick up the Modern apps I had installed on my Windows 8 laptop. It brought over my IE favorites as well.

    Jerry

  9. #8
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Also, the option to use a Local Account is, indeed, there on the intitial windows @ the onset of the instalation process, down in the corner. The choice is there. Although, doing it w/ a MS Acc't does have the effect that the OS installs indentically to one's 8.1 w/out having to lift a finger to make them similar. That is rather nice IF you like what you, already, have in your 8.1

    But, Jerry is, certainly, correct that it can be changed to Local or vise versa after the fact.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    Windows 10OS.jpg

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •