Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Office 365 messed up Office 2010 on my computer.

    I have a dell XPS8700, with Win 8.1and Office 2010 installed.
    I got free offer to install Office 365 Pro. I decided to try it to see what I thought about it. I should not have done it on my main computer.
    It did not make as many changes to Word. Word and outlook are the main programs I use.

    It overruled my settings and made Office 365 the primary one. It also insisted on being only Outlook, so I uninstalled it. But now I have several problems.

    !. now an 'upgrade in process. Your mailbox is currently being optimized as part of upgrading....it may take 15 minutes or more.' It has been 3-4 hours, no change

    2. 'Upgrade Outlook connector. You must upgrade to the latest version of Outlook Hotmail connector to continue using this email account'
    I did not have Outlook Hotmail connector before. I have no reason to use Hotmail in Outlook.
    3. This is likely related, now when I try to set a sender as a 'safe sender' I get message that this was NOT implemented.
    Any idea on how to get my Outlook back to how it was before

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Did you make a backup before setting up Office 365? That would be the first thing to do when upgrading...

    Now you want to use Outlook 2013 or Outlook 2010? What exactly do you mean by "how it was before"? Does that mean getting Outlook 2013 working normally?
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,645
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 884 Times in 845 Posts
    Windows usually creates a restore point when a program is installed/uninstalled - have you checked yours to revert to prior the 365 download either by name or date ?

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    HI, Great. thanks. I don't know why I did not think of that.
    I looked up how to restore prior restore point. Luckily I did follow hint to check 'affected software', to see that I needed to use the 2nd most recent restore point. But it worked. Again Thank you.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    to ruirb.
    No, of course I did not do a backup before I installed office 365. 8-#

    I wanted to return to being able to use Outlook2010, that is what I meant by 'how it was before'.

    Sudio15, suggested looking into the system restore point. fortunately for me, that worked.
    I appreciate all the help when I have sent in a question.

    I also read the Lounge every week and learn a lot form it.
    Thanks to all.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,645
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 884 Times in 845 Posts
    Restore points when they are working are always a good fall back and creating your own prior to making any major changes is always good practice and glad they worked for you.

    Creating a system image to external media as Rui has suggested is an even safer method because restore points can become troublesome.

    When you download/install a newer/similar program on top of one already installed, conflicts can occur and probably more so because of the complexities of Office in that they would incorporate similar apps.

    In the light of your experience, perhaps MS should have included a warning of possible conflicts/changes when an existing version of Office is already installed.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-10-09 at 08:46.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    Creating a system image to external media as Rui has suggested is an even safer method because restore points can become troublesome.
    If the install includes removing a previous version of the software, no system restore will fix that. I have been getting ever more conservative with changes to my computers. I don't do anything major (like updating or adding something that may add incompatibilities) without imaging, which actually means adapting to the imaging schedule and holding things up until I image, unless there is some emergency justifying advancing the regular images.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    To Ruirib,
    Luckily for me the install of Office 365, did not uninstall office 2010. Therefore, the restore point worked. I did have to do the 'repair' on Office 2010 after the restore in order to get it working. I checked all the other 'affected programs', per the Restore point hints. I have made another Drive Image as soon as that was done.
    In the past, I thought I could have two versions of Office, but only one version of Outlook.
    Unfortunately, the install did not allow me to customize, where I would not have allowed Outlook2013 to set itself up.
    MS should I think, have notice that Office365 would override Office2010.
    With Office365 being such a big deal for being online, I thought I could still use Office2010 for if I was off line, or unless I specifically wanted to use it. I was wrong.

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Office365 is just the name of the package you buy, really, but what you get to install locally is Office 2013, so you really do not need Office 2010 installed, if you have 2013.

    When Office 2013 was in beta, I ran both side by side, including Outlook. I am not sure if this ability was lost in the release version, even if I think it did not, but I really had no interested in having them both, so I ended up running 2013, having upgraded over 2010.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    The generic click-to-run install of Office 2013 does not allow a custom install. See Overview of Click-to-Run customization for details of the current method for customizing a click-to-run install.
    Click-to-run installations use virtualization to enable multiple versions of Office including Outlook to be installed side-by-side. See Overview of Click-to-Run.

    Joe

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •