5 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Microsoft's EMET 5 has some teething pains

FOLLOW-UP

Microsoft's EMET 5 has some teething pains

By Susan Bradley

Following a recent story on EMET 5, some Windows Secrets readers ran into trouble trying Microsoft's anti-zero-day security application.

Their reported problems with EMET might be due to software incompatibilities. Here's an update.

The full text of this column is posted at http://windowssecrets.com/follow-up/...eething-pains/ (opens in a new window/tab).

Columnists typically cannot reply to comments here, but do incorporate the best tips into future columns.

Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Susan,
    A few months ago you mentioned "Trusteer Rapport" as a worthwhile addition to Internet financial transactions. I've been using it for many months because my bank recommended it and find that it "plays well" with all the software on my 64-bit Windows 7 PC. It just surprises me that you didn't mention it again in this article.
    Stu

Thanks
    In the article Susan states that adding exceptions to EMET, it is no longer serving its purpose. I disagree. I only had to disable two exceptions to get IE 11 to work and fell I still get a lot of extra protection from EMET. I have all the latest add ons that I use in IE 11 but it still crashes when EAF and Stack Pivot are enabled. I suspect the Java add on is the issue here but I use it and don't have the time to debug add ons.

I also had to add one exception to the Office 2007 apps.

Jerry

2 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by sb06794 View Post
    Susan,
    A few months ago you mentioned "Trusteer Rapport" as a worthwhile addition to Internet financial transactions. I've been using it for many months because my bank recommended it and find that it "plays well" with all the software on my 64-bit Windows 7 PC. It just surprises me that you didn't mention it again in this article.
    Stu