Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Internal sound cards

    Are there any sound cards by any manufacturer that are made that support or include the stereo mix or "what you hear" feature. I've read that most internal sound cards now do not include it or do not include that feature on there drivers anymore due to RIAA pressure to have it disabled.
    Running windows7 64 bit home premium here.

    Thanks for any help

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    See if this helps:
    http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/39532...-record-audio/
    Usually when I want to record what comes out of my speakers I use Total Recorder, has a setting to allow that.

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks for your answer. I'm aware of the Realtek HD onboard sound in recording devices. I installed a Creative Sound Blaster card and removed it due to the fact it did not allow for the stero mix or "what you hear" capability. In order to install the card I disabled the onboard audio in the BIOS screen and lost the Realtek stero mix in recording devices. I do DJ'ing online and just wanted to improve my sound and be able to talk at the same time. I'm not a gamer. Most sound card manufacturers either don't include this feature or leave it out of their drivers these days.
    Does any sound card manufacturer still have that feature ? Noty looking for external sound cards or adding Audacity as I dont do any recording on computer.

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    My old 32-bit desktop had a Creative card, and I could record what I heard with no problem;
    By "internal sound card", I think you mean "onboard sound card", which is a completely inferior device.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    I think the recording industry and others, namely, the motion picture industry, put the
    screws to Microsoft et al at the advent of Vista when it comes to such copyright.

    I don't think the OP can do what he is asking natively in the OS without some kind of third party coding.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Christchurch , New Zealand
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Sounds like you need to get back into BIOS and reactivate the on-board audio , and re-install the chipset drivers , which will usually contain the audio drivers . If you haven't got the driver discs for your motherboard ... go to it's maker's web-site ...

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    301
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 39 Times in 30 Posts
    I don't know exactly what the request is. If it means playing music, and at the same time, allowing talking/singing/rapping through the microphone (similar to Karaoke), then it could be done in a PC, in a strange way.

    Enable testing (recording) using the microphone; it then allows adjusting microphone volume level for max undistorted microphone input level. At the same time, play the music or media via the PC soft player. This should behave as if you're karaoke with mic.

    The other method, is to enable your web cam but choose your mic as voice input device, rather than the built-in mic of the web cam. Now play music via the soft player. Whatever you say into the mic will 'mix' with the soft player output.

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    thanks very much for that idea. i appreciate the help. Would you happen to know if I can run Realtek onboard audio and use an internal soundcard at the same time ?
    Installed a Creative Soundblaster card and it automatically disables the onboard sound and when looking on recording devices the Realtek doesn't show. If I go into the BIOS screen and renable onboard audio (providing it allows me to) will the Realtek once again appear in recording devices ?

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    301
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 39 Times in 30 Posts
    I'm not aware you can run both audio hardware. (Yes, it is 2 hardware: one on the motherboard and one in a sound card). BIOS toggles one or the other.

    However, if you buy another brand of sound card, it might work (or not). Say, you already have Soundblaster card. Now install a non-Creative audio card. Because they use different software drivers, they might co-exist. Note that some brands are actually Creative re-brand. If they use the same Creative software driver, they are Creative re-brand, or they also use Creative chips.

    Another option: Use Virtual Audio Cable (not free).
    http://software.muzychenko.net/eng/vac.htm
    http://software.muzychenko.net/eng/

    Virtual Audio Cable works just like real world physical audio cable, but more forgiving.

    You can route 'audio signal' inside the PC from one source to another (input to output, output to input). Or many inputs to one output, one output to many inputs, etc. Physical cable cannot do that because sharing an input may lower the volume, or a short circuit happens if outputs are tied together. But this is 'software signal', this does not count!
    Maybe you can route the microphone 'signal' (inside the PC, that is) directly to the soft player or soft amplifier.

    Virtual Audio Cable is not quite user friendly, a little complex. Try until satisfied. No amp or microphone will be hurt!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •