Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Location

  1. #1
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

    Location

    Although in the same state and town, I recently moved to a different Zip code within that town. The problem is when I put in the new zip code, I keep getting results that are in the old zip code. That isn't necessarily a bad thing, though those listings are showing up on the top and those that are in the new Zip code are clear at the bottom. I've cleaned out the cookies in I.E.11 in Win 7 using the Internet options, but I know there must be something else I can do to change this.
    Your help is always appreciated
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Posts
    208
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
    What are you trying to do with the ZIP codes? What application are you trying to work with?
    This question would probably receive more relevant answers if it were posted in the appropriate forum; i.e, Spreadsheets, Databases

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nate01pa View Post
    What are you trying to do with the ZIP codes? I am trying to look up locations near for services like UPS Store.
    What application are you trying to work with? I.E 11

    This question would probably receive more relevant answers if it were posted in the appropriate forum; i.e, Spreadsheets, Databases
    Sorry I must not have had enough coffee this morning!!!
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,746
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    More clues: Bing? Google? Something else?
    Last edited by BruceR; 2014-10-17 at 21:55.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
    This story begins in a medium sized city in Arizona. The names have been changed to protect the innocent.
    I was searching for the location of a Safeway near me and entered my new zip code. When I pressed enter the site came up with stores located in my previous zip code. This is happening repeatedly and not just on the site that I mentioned
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,746
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Is there a reason the sites need to remain anonymous?

    Change your location on Google

    Manage your Bing settings

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
    No, no reason at all Bruce. It occurs no matter if I visit safeway.com. walmart.com etc.

    Other than the default Zip code change in Bing Settings nothing else is different or should be.
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Are you logged in at those sites? Has you address been updated at those sites?

    Do you have a default store set at those sites?

    Joe

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
    Yes, Yes, and Yes
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  10. #10
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,153
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by t8ntlikly View Post
    Yes, Yes, and Yes
    You could try deleting IE11's "Temporary Internet Files"/"Cookies" etc. (Control Panel/Internet Options under "Delete" button under "Browsing history" on the "General" tab).
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •