2 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Seek comments about USB DVD drive on Win7 computer

My computer OS is Win7 Home Premium. Feel free to comment even if your OS is different. Portable USB DVD drives are becoming more popular. I decided I would, get with it, so to speak. I ordered a Samsung SE-208DB USB DVD drive. A single quick install sheet came with the drive. The quick install sheet simply says to connect the USB cable to the drive and also to your computer. It also says to read the manual prior to using the drive.
    There was no manual supplied. A search of the Samsung site drew a blank. There are many manuals available there, but, none for the SE-208DB. I found an SE-208DB manual on a third party site. The manual says the drive requires 1.4A of current. It also says you may have to use a Y connector to get the drive to work properly. My limited knowledge says that USB 2.0 ports supply a max of 0.5A. Ying 2 of them still only gets 1.0A max.
    This is my first attempt at using a portable DVD drive.
    At this point I have not connected it to the computer. I have dozens of questions. A few of them are;

Will this destroy one of my computer USB ports?
    Can I destroy 2 USB ports with a Y cable?
    Should I have ordered a drive that has its own power supply?

I would appreciate hearing any comments about using this portable USB DVD drive.
    Michael

Thanks
    Will this destroy one of my computer USB ports? No

Can I destroy 2 USB ports with a “Y” cable? No

Should I have ordered a drive that has its own power supply? A power brick is not much use if the drive is to be used with a laptop, which is what they are intended for. Plug the drive into a single USB socket first and see if it works before getting a Y cable. If it doesn't work with a front USB connector, try one of the rear ones.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Calimanco For This Useful Post:

Michael37713 (2014-10-21)

WS Lounge VIP
    Thanks