Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unable to upgrade Windows 8 to 8.1

    After settling in after moving, I have finally turned my desktop back on (after almost 2 years using only a laptop with Windows 7). Windows 8 is installed on the desktop, so I thought to upgrade to 8.1. However, the automatic updates won't do it, nor is it displayed in the App Store.

    I ran the 8.1 troubleshooter, and it reported my system did not meet minimum display resolution requirements. I have a Dell U2711 with 2560x1440 resolution, and Windows says that is the resolution, so not meeting minimum display requirements not a correct analysis! I do have only one display defined. I am using the Intel onchip graphics on a Core i7 processor, and do not have a separate video card.

    I'd appreciate any suggestions about how to solve this problem.

    I'm tempted to replace the C: drive and just reinstall Windows 7. (But the sheer number of installed applications makes that a time consuming chore.)

    Thanks for any suggestions!

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Have you tried lowering your display resolution, say to 1920xXXXX?
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Make sure all your Windows Updates are installed. Some of them need to be installed before the Windows 8.1 update is offered in the store.

    Jerry

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I had tried reducing the display resolution, but that didn't help. Thinking more about your suggestion, I then tried reducing the display resolution in the Intel HD graphics driver. That seemed to take care of the problem. At least that was easier than attaching a different monitor.

    Thanks!

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Scharf View Post
    I had tried reducing the display resolution, but that didn't help. Thinking more about your suggestion, I then tried reducing the display resolution in the Intel HD graphics driver. That seemed to take care of the problem. At least that was easier than attaching a different monitor.

    Thanks!
    I am glad that worked .
    Rui
    -------
    R4

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •