Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

    restore point does not work at all

    what did i do wrong ?

    went to help and navigated to restore point on xp pro sp3
    did a restore point and named it

    downloaded a new program and installed
    fail

    tried to back up using restore in xp
    but even though i find the restore point that i made
    xp claims there is no restore point
    even though it said it made one previously

    what am i missing here ?

    do i have to use some image program on the whole disk every time i try a new program or install something ??

    should i use the restore function of some of my utilities
    like spyware blaster that has a system snapshot

    maybe i should do all of the above in case one does not work next time
    but what i would like is just to make win restore actually restore

    any ideas why it said it made a restore point and then denied its existence when i tried to use it ??

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,579
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    I found system restore to be not very reliable with XP.

    Did you try the restore in safe mode?
    Did you try disabling anti-virus software before attempting the restore?

    Joe

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,619
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 875 Times in 837 Posts
    From what I've read, restore points on XP can be iffy at the best of times.

    Normally if you get a Fail in normal mode but work in Safe Mode, that can be attributed to AV interference - but for Windows not recognizing any, perhaps a chkdsk /f may find something to repair.

    Lack of disk space and infections can also cause restore point problems and being unable to download any programs can be a sign of infection

    You probably have sufficient space on your HDD so it may be prudent to scan with something like the free version of MBAM

    Maybe worth checking to see if its service is running as well http://support.microsoft.com/kb/302796

    You could also try this MS Fixit to see if it resolves the program install problem http://support.microsoft.com/kb/822798

    You can usually copy these Fixits across to the affected machine if it won't download.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-10-23 at 13:28.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    no but i will try that next
    thanks for the tip

    what about other restores like spyware blaster and some other utilities that add that feature ? do you would they would work better ??
    not sure why antispyware makes a difference here.
    it does complain when the registry is being changed but never when it is copied that i know of.


    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    I found system restore to be not very reliable with XP.

    Did you try the restore in safe mode?
    Did you try disabling anti-virus software before attempting the restore?

    Joe

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,619
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 875 Times in 837 Posts
    AV programs don't like being reverted as it puts their Definitions out of date - at least that is what I think is the reason.

    If you have an image back to when the restore points work (if you know they worked then), using that image would probably better than trying to fix.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    i fear that none of my old ones will work if it claims it does not see the new ones

    dont care about a/v programs
    they can be handled if need be but no restore point should bother them
    they would just think it was yesterday or last week and pick up running from there

    i wanted to get the registry and installed program working at the previous point that was good before the download of the new program that failed to work right but the restore did not work like xp said it should

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,619
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 875 Times in 837 Posts
    Well, Norton 360 doesn't like restore points as it normally gives me a Fix Now button when I open it up to bring the Definitions up to date.

    Have a look at my suggestions in Post #3.

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    thanks

    all my norton does is tell me occasionally that something is trying to go out on the net and do i want to allow it

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,619
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 875 Times in 837 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by speedball View Post
    thanks

    all my norton does is tell me occasionally that something is trying to go out on the net and do i want to allow it
    That's when you have a program that's "phoning home" possibly checking for updates but depending upon the frequency, could also be indicative of an infection.

    Did you run the scan with MBAM ?

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,730
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts
    In another place, it was indicated that system restore points cannot replace what has been deleted from the harddrive, nor will it delete something installed since that system restore point. Can somebody correct me if I understand incorrectly? Like registry backups/restores, system restore points are often problematic.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,619
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 875 Times in 837 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RolandJS View Post
    In another place, it was indicated that system restore points cannot replace what has been deleted from the harddrive, nor will it delete something installed since that system restore point. Can somebody correct me if I understand incorrectly? Like registry backups/restores, system restore points are often problematic.
    While I don't have any experience of the effectiveness of restore points in XP, a restore point is a snapshot of what is on your computer at the time it was taken and will include programs that have since been uninstalled.

    This can either be a Windows restore point or a system image stored on external media.

    When using Windows restore points and clicking on Scan for affected programs, it will tell you what will be lost when programs have been installed since the point was created and also tell you which existing programs may not work as well and may have to be reinstalled - so to that end they can be problematic, but any programs uninstalled after the restore point was created, will be reinstated along with any infections that may have been present at that time and is the reason why all restore points should be deleted following a disinfection.

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,335
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    If you build a UBCD4Win disc, there is a utility on there that can be used to force a Restore point with choice of any set of restore folders. I occasionally run across an XP system that won't restore but the utility always succeeds.

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,373
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    do you remember the name??
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  14. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,619
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 875 Times in 837 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wavy View Post
    do you remember the name??
    Probably best to create your own disk and check it out http://www.ubcd4win.org/
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-11-05 at 18:08.

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,373
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts

    Sudo

    I looked here http://www.ubcd4win.org/contents.htm
    but could not find any thing that would do that.

    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •