Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

    brand new win 8.0 wont work at all

    bought a laptop with 8.0 in an emergency a while back
    desktop got fixed faster than expected
    so did not set up the laptop then

    the laptop with win8.0 is a dell inspiron 15I15rv-1906blk

    now i am trying to set it up
    and it will not do anything that is needed

    it says it is downloading updates but it never gets the first byte no matter how long i let it run

    it wont download new drivers

    put a usb flash drive in the connector and the pc sees it
    but when i try to do a restore point it claims there is no media

    should i just junk this POS and eat the loss
    or am i doing something wrong that can make this thing work
    if i knew what i should be doing ??

    i suspect that dell added buggy code on top of ms own bugs
    as i had to keep clicking on things to get the registration to work
    at least half a dozen times to make the registration program actually work
    and that was by accident after once it rejected the attempt

    any and all clues tips etc appreciated.
    thanks.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    I'd check on a different machine for updates at Dell, download there to a thumb drive, and then install on the laptop. Since it most likely is still under warranty, if it still does not work then I'd call Dell support and make them walk through the various issues one at a time.

    Are you using the Windows Update via Control Panel or PC Settings? I've seen the Control Panel WU sometimes sit there for minutes showing no activity when downloading a large number and/or size updates. Then suddenly it is finished downloading and proceeding to install.

    Joe

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    i dont recall how i found the update place in the dell

    win 8 is so bizarro and hard to locate anything unless you already know what it is and also its specific name

    i kept exploring and finally found a place that let us update
    (via notifications?)
    started it and it ran for an hour with nothng downloaded

    i hate to call any vendor
    never got toshiba to answer the phone
    they never responded to emails

    dell wont allow email help for my laptop (why ??)
    and i am afraid that i wont get through on the phone
    but if i do it will be somebody in another country that does not speak english
    and will just read a meaningless script to me that has no help

    i PRINTED the manuals and will read them all today for clues
    but if dell is like toshiba they are full of bugs and erroneous info

    one more day wasted trying to hit on a winning combination
    then back to the seller who sold me an extended warranty
    and hope i dont have to mail it to taiwan to have them make it work

    i had some problems with a dell desktop too
    but not nearly this bad

    i really wish dell would stop trying to be helpful
    and making all those changes to teh opsys and UI
    and just give us the real thing so it would work according to the ms help sites and teh dummies books

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 879 Times in 841 Posts
    I would have just taken it straight back - I take it was local where you bought it ?

    In the UK the seller has first responsibility to resolve and it is them that have to do any sending back if need be, but they normally have their own repair Depts.

    Thing is, warranties don't normally cover software but having a problem from scratch can have mitigation in having the seller put things right.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I had a big problem when I first tried to download from the Store. The program loaded about 50% and then dropped dead...and the message said "Try again later" well later never happened. I then spoke to a mechanic knowledgeable...He found virus and anti virus programs installed on the laptop were some of the items that was interfering with the installation of the program. Also there is a verification number needed.
    My suggestion would be to go either to the supplier [ i.e. the place from which you purchased the program or have a chat with your friendly Computer Shop and it is very possible that they would be more helpful as they would be looking at the long term relationship of the business that they would expect from you in the future. Good Luck
    Normane166

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    My experience with Dell retail support is that you must be persistent and go along with the first level inane questions. Once you try what they want and get by that then you'll either get escalated to second level support or the machine will be replaced.

    Joe

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    828
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 38 Times in 34 Posts
    You could try resetting the laptop to factory condition. Look in the manual, it should tell you how to do this. It usually involves hitting some function key during set, that will take you to a menu which guides you through the process. Once it's done, the laptop will reboot and go through the same initial setup routine as when you fist turned it on out of the box. I've gone through this process with both an HP and Sony laptop, it's fairly simple and will get you back to the beginning.

    Also, is there a port on your laptop to connect to a network? You might want to try using a wired network just in case your wireless network is not working.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,748
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by speedball View Post
    put a usb flash drive in the connector and the pc sees it
    but when i try to do a restore point it claims there is no media
    You can't save a restore point to a flash drive (or even try to do so). Perhaps you meant a Recovery Drive, but why backup a system that won't work?

    Why not try a Refresh or Reset?

    Bruce
    Last edited by BruceR; 2014-10-25 at 17:54.

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    141
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I can assure you that Dell support do speak English and their support is very good indeed.
    Go to their support site, use the chat feature and let them fix your computer. They can access it via remote access and if they cant fix it this way they will have an engineer out to your home within one working day to repair it.

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    update

    who knows what happened but ...........

    it fixed itself on its own after just sitting for a few days
    it downloaded all the ms updates and installed them

    cant get the intel updates that are marked important
    they always fail

    one night it came up with an upgrade to win 8.1 screen
    i went to bed
    the next afternoon by the time i got back to the pc
    that screen had disappeared and cant be found anywhere

    it may just be me but this win 8/8.1 thing is too buggy and bizarre for my taste
    and does too many things automatically that i cant control
    plus having to tie in so closely to microsoft and their account makes me nervous
    i dont want to have any identifying info out there about me or my pc

    that said i guess i will be forced to do that anyway if we run skype
    and also if i try to get 8.1 from the 'store'

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •