Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    222
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Problem registering in Forums w/FF28?

    Hi,

    RE: Problem registering in Forums w/FF28?

    I don't know how many forums I've registered in since I've been using FF browser. Many in 10 yr?

    Currently I've registered in 3 separate forms, registration went fine, responded to confirm email when appropriate.
    However when I later go back to the forum, log-in was denied? When possible, I contacted the forum about my log-in problem.
    One forum responded twice with a password reset to no avail. Others haven't responded yet.

    "Me thinks something is rotten in the state Denmark"

    Note: I was able to get into this forum with no problem and others I have already signed up for.

    cheers,

    klx

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,602
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 847 Times in 809 Posts
    Have you tried those forums with IE - and FF is up to v33.01 now unless you've reverted to v28.0 for other reasons ?

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    klxdrt (2014-10-27)

  4. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    222
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    Have you tried those forums with IE - and FF is up to v33.01 now unless you've reverted to v28.0 for other reasons ?
    Hi,

    Just tried to log with IE 11 at forum that would not accept my log in & got this.

    FF33 was too minimalist for me.

    Thanks,

    klx
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,602
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 847 Times in 809 Posts
    That's a problem with the website and for the forum's admins to sort out but if you aren't getting any replies from them....

    You could try adding a couple or so numbers to your username and open a spare www.gmail.com account to see if they stick.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    klxdrt (2014-10-27)

  7. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    222
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    That's a problem with the website and for the forum's admins to sort out but if you aren't getting any replies from them....

    You could try adding a couple or so numbers to your username and open a spare www.gmail.com account to see if they stick.
    Thanks,

    I'll give it a try; however I don't use web mail, esp Google because past breaches of security, privacy that cost me dearly.

    How could basic forum registration not work after 25 yrs of use on the net? This is 2014, and with the best n' brightest running things, this simple operation should be ubiquitous.

    Your forum works fine & I have a 15 yr old Mazda Protege that runs like a top & gets good gas mileage.

    Hope we don't have to put a "Man on the Moon, 1968" and return him safely.

    cheers,

    klx

  8. #6
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by klxdrt View Post
    Hope we don't have to put a "Man on the Moon, 1968" and return him safely.
    Well maybe we'll get it right next year...like putting a man on the moon on July 20, 1969! ROTFLOL.gif
    Last edited by RetiredGeek; 2014-10-26 at 20:31.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    klxdrt (2014-10-27)

  10. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,602
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 847 Times in 809 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by klxdrt View Post
    Thanks,

    I'll give it a try; however I don't use web mail, esp Google because past breaches of security, privacy that cost me dearly.

    How could basic forum registration not work after 25 yrs of use on the net? This is 2014, and with the best n' brightest running things, this simple operation should be ubiquitous.

    Your forum works fine & I have a 15 yr old Mazda Protege that runs like a top & gets good gas mileage.

    Hope we don't have to put a "Man on the Moon, 1968" and return him safely.

    cheers,

    klx
    The e-mail address is probably more for reply notifications as it is for this forum so you don't need to use it for anything else.

    @ RG - I was stationed in Germany and on guard duty that night and watched the pics on a small black and white portable tv someone had brought into the Guard Room - Happy days

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    klxdrt (2014-10-27)

  12. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    222
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks guys,

    I'll create a workaround.

    box and dot image for doc.png

    cheers, klx

  13. #9
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,720
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by klxdrt View Post
    Hi,

    Just tried to log with IE 11 at forum that would not accept my log in & got this.

    FF33 was too minimalist for me.

    Thanks,

    klx
    Surely that image is one where you're trying to register not login - so it would show as already being in use - or have I missed something there?

    In what way is FF 'minimalist'?

  14. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    222
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by access-mdb View Post
    Surely that image is one where you're trying to register not login - so it would show as already being in use - or have I missed something there?

    In what way is FF 'minimalist'?
    access mdb

    I did upgrade to FF 34 by accident, FF28 crashed, wouldn't open at all. Then after a zillion, try's, re-boots, web searching, it finally "opened". Then it automatically updated to FF 34 after removing & saving my FF 28 stuff.

    FF 34 did work but the items on the menu/tool bars were hidden or in the wrong place. After messing around with FF34 I was able to restore some "catywampus" order. I need modify [and can] most of my tool/menu bars for decades because of my vision situation.

    I finally came up with a tool bar config I can "almost" work with; however some changes have to be made yet, see red arrows on image below:
    Red arrows indicate the positions I need buttons to be inserted.
    Is there a way to position buttons in that manner" Image way below:

    I just installed the Classic Toolbar Buttons 1.4.5 & Theme restorer 1.2.82 ad-ons in FF 34; however Classic Toolbar Buttons 1.4.5 is useless unless I can see what the descriptions of the changes look like. This is one of the 'minimalist' problems I was talking about.
    Old Fred R. Barnard in 1913 knew the importance of seeing what you are getting. Image way below.
    If you know where I view actual images what the "changes" would look like, I'd appreciate if you could point me in the right direction.

    If I can solve my tool bar situation with these 2 ad-ons I'll do that; however I'll need some visuals.



    Classic Toolbar Buttons Classic toolbar button style for Firefox, Thunderbird and Seamonkey toolbars and other tweaks and settings.Toolbar buttons gui was changed for "small icon view" in Firefox 8, "large icon view" in Firefox 14 as well as for Thunderbird 15. The Windows only add-on "Classic Toolbar Buttons" restores the old buttons gui for toolbar buttons on navigation toolbar, main toolbars (Thunderbird/Seamonkey) and also makes it optionally available for toolbar buttons placed on other toolbars like menu-, tabs-, bookmarks- or add-ons toolbars. Some basic tweaks are also available for Thunderbird and Seamonkey.

    Features & Options for Firefox

    classic toolbar buttons style for ...
    ... toolbar buttons on menu toolbar
    ... toolbar buttons on tabs toolbar
    ... toolbar buttons on navigation toolbar
    ... toolbar buttons on bookmarks toolbar
    ... items and folders on bookmarks toolbar
    ... toolbar buttons on add-ons toolbar
    ... toolbar buttons on All-In-On-Sidebar
    ... toolbar buttons on library toolbar
    ... tab-scollbuttons (if visible)
    ... "back-forward-dropmarker" (if installed/enabled)
    toolbar button icon settings
    default (let Firefox or a theme or a third party add-on decide)
    Firefox 1
    Firefox 2
    Firefox 3
    Firefox 3 (Strata)
    Firefox 4-12 (dark)
    Firefox 4-12 (white)
    Firefox 13+ (dark)
    Firefox 13+ (white)
    Firefox Ubuntu (thx to Bollerkopp & Tango Desktop Project)
    Firefox MacOSX
    Seamonkey
    Firefox (Mozilla mix)
    Noia
    download button indicator icon settings
    default downloads toolbar icon (always)
    green arrow (Firefox default)
    blue arrow
    toolbar button dropmarker icon settings
    default (let Firefox or a third party add-on decide)
    dark & small icon
    dark & big icon
    white & small icon
    white & big icon
    back-forward button settings
    default (let Firefox or a third party add-on decide)
    Firefox 3 (green)
    Firefox 3 (Strata blue)
    Firefox 3 (Strata blue v2)
    Firefox 3 (red)
    Firefox 3 (orange)
    Internet Explorer 8
    Internet Explorer 9
    reload-stop-go button gui (if button on urlbar)
    classic style (Firefox 4-8)
    Australis style
    classic downloads window
    restore hidden forward-button (if connected to urlbar)
    restore classic green & blue identity-box colors
    change toolbar buttons border radius
    change toolbar buttons height/width
    change spaces around and between toolbar buttons


    Features & Options for Thunderbird

    classic toolbar buttons style for ...
    ... toolbar buttons on tabs toolbar
    ... toolbar buttons on menu toolbar
    ... toolbar buttons on main toolbars
    toolbar button icon settings
    default (let Thunderbird or a theme or a third party add-on decide)
    Thunderbird (dark)
    Thunderbird (white)
    Thunderbird 1
    Thunderbird 2
    Thunderbird 3
    Thunderbird 3 (Strata)
    Thunderbird (MacOSX)
    toolbar button dropmarker icon settings
    default (let Thunderbird or a third party add-on decide)
    dark & small icon
    dark & big icon
    white & small icon
    white & big icon
    change toolbar buttons border radius
    change toolbar buttons height/width
    change spaces around and between toolbar buttons


    Features & Options for Seamonkey

    classic toolbar buttons style for ...
    ... toolbar buttons on menu toolbar
    ... toolbar buttons on main toolbars (browser, mail, composer, adressbook, editor, Lightning)
    ... toolbar buttons on bookmarks toolbar
    ... items and folders on bookmarks toolbar
    toolbar button icon settings
    default (let Seamonkey or a theme or a third party add-on decide)
    Firefox 1
    Firefox 2
    Firefox 3
    Firefox 3 (Strata)
    Firefox 4-12 (dark)
    Firefox 4-12 (white)
    Firefox 13+ (dark)
    Firefox 13+ (white)
    Firefox Ubuntu (thx to Bollerkopp & Tango Desktop Project)
    Firefox MacOSX
    Firefox (Mozilla mix)
    Noia
    toolbar button icon settings
    default (let Seamonkey or a theme or a third party add-on decide)
    Thunderbird (dark)
    Thunderbird (white)
    Thunderbird 1
    Thunderbird 2
    Thunderbird 3
    Thunderbird 3 (Strata)
    Thunderbird (MacOSX)
    toolbar button dropmarker icon settings
    default (let Seamonkey or a third party add-on decide)
    dark & small icon
    dark & big icon
    white & small icon
    white & big icon
    change toolbar buttons border radius
    change toolbar buttons height/width
    change spaces around and between toolbar buttons


    Notes
    All settings are for the default theme, but they "may" work with other themes and toolbar-styling add-ons too, like L.A.R Grizzlys themes, Statini Super theme, Strata M4 theme, Tangerinefox theme and maybe others!

    Firefox / Thunderbird / Seamonkey

    Firefox settings are only visible on Firefox
    Thunderbird settings are only visible on Thunderbird
    Seamonkey settings are only visible on Seamonkey


    "Add-on Compatibility Reporter" add-on
    If you have problems or find bugs, please contact me by email (provided inside my profile) or use this add-ons support page. Sending (false) reports using "Add-on compatibility Reporter"-extension without a proper description are not valid and cannot be fixed!
    Attached Images Attached Images

  15. #11
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,720
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    klxdrt, this is my FF34 with arrows pointing to those things you wanted.ff34.png. You can probably get them by right clicking on a toolbar and choosing customize. Actually the one between the address and the search, just hover over the gap and you should be able to adjust the width of them by moving left or right.

    Is this what you mean?

  16. #12
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,720
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 124 Times in 121 Posts
    Are you running Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit? If so, disable the shield for your browsers. If not, I'll listen in and learn from the others. I had a similar problem and the every-eternal circle problem until I disabled the MBAE browser shields.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  17. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    222
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by RolandJS View Post
    Are you running Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit? If so, disable the shield for your browsers. If not, I'll listen in and learn from the others. I had a similar problem and the every-eternal circle problem until I disabled the MBAE browser shields.
    Roland,

    Thanks for joining in "the more the merrier" especially around the holidays. [Are you running Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit? NO]. As of now all is A-OK. But things change.

    cheers,

    klx
    Attached Images Attached Images

  18. #14
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    222
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by access-mdb View Post
    klxdrt, this is my FF34 with arrows pointing to those things you wanted.ff34.png. You can probably get them by right clicking on a toolbar and choosing customize. Actually the one between the address and the search, just hover over the gap and you should be able to adjust the width of them by moving left or right.

    Is this what you mean?
    access mdb,

    Below is a pix of my ff34 tool bar after your advice applied. I can live with that layout, however I'm looking for a way to swap positions of the "search field" with the "address field"
    & add some color to the rest of the hard to see gray buttons.

    I appreciate your continued assistance.

    cheers,

    klx
    Attached Images Attached Images

  19. #15
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,720
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    klx, if you go to customise again, hover over the search box (which should be in a dotted box), the cursor changes to a hand. Left click and move it to where you want. You can experiment to see if you can move other things. To change colour may have to download a suitable theme (got from tools/addons/appearance).

    p.s. you didn't include your pic of the results as you said you would.....

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •