Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows 7 Keycode

    Hello all.

    I recently performed a Fred Langa no reformat reinstall of Win 7 Prof 64 bit after first using Magical Jelly Bean to ascertain my keycode. Upon completion of the reinstallation I attempted to activate Windows using the keycode.
    Activation was refused. A MS person told me that my keycode was invalid. I accepted that because I cannot remember how I got my cooy of Win 7. So I purchased a new copy of the software, with keycode and downloaded, installed, and successfully activated it.

    MS is happy. I am happy. However, Magical Jelly bean keyfinder reports that my keycode is "BBBBB-BBBBB-BBBBB-BBBBB-BBBBB". I downloaded a different keyfinder and ran it, with the same result.

    J now wonder what will happen if I find the need to do another reinstal in the future.

    I would appreciate any suggestions.

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    722
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 144 Times in 130 Posts
    Avoid the problem by cloning or imaging your hard drive to an external hard drive so you have a full backup of your OS in a working state.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger smithdoor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Clovis CA
    Posts
    147
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have windows 8.1 and have reinstall
    Just use the same Windows using the same key code.
    I did buy windows 8.1 for each CPU and did not use on any other CPU
    I have use windows 2000 on more than one CPU and was warn of try to use windows 8.1 more than one CPU

    Dave
    Last edited by smithdoor; 2014-10-28 at 09:40.

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    NY state
    Posts
    229
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 23 Times in 22 Posts
    See if Speccy http://www.piriform.com/speccy shows the correct key. I never had good luck with Magic jellybean.
    Joe

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Calimanco View Post
    Avoid the problem by cloning or imaging your hard drive to an external hard drive so you have a full backup of your OS in a working state.
    Yeah,thank you Calimanco!

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Joe S View Post
    See if Speccy http://www.piriform.com/speccy shows the correct key. I never had good luck with Magic jellybean.
    Joe
    Joe S - Never heard of speccy, so I gave it a go. It's very impressive, but it didn't come up with the keycode. I appreciate your input - thank you!

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you Dave!

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nlbu View Post
    ...Magical Jelly bean keyfinder reports that my keycode is "BBBBB-BBBBB-BBBBB-BBBBB-BBBBB". I downloaded a different keyfinder and ran it, with the same result...
    Try ProduKey.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,639
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 883 Times in 844 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nlbu View Post
    Joe S - Never heard of speccy, so I gave it a go. It's very impressive, but it didn't come up with the keycode. I appreciate your input - thank you!
    In Speccy, expand Operating System and it should be listed as Serial Number at the top of the page - but I prefer Belarc Advisor for product keys.

    http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you Coochin. The good news is that Produkey found a Windows product key.
    The bad news is that it is NOT the product key I used to activate. The sad news is that I’m now more confused than ever. Strangely enugh, Belarc will show only the last five digits of the code, and they match the code I entered. I think I’ll let sleeping dogs lie.

  11. #11
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nlbu View Post
    Thank you Coochin. The good news is that Produkey found a Windows product key.
    The bad news is that it is NOT the product key I used to activate...
    That's odd.

    I've used ProduKey many times since sometime in 2006; mostly on XP, but also several times on Win7.

    Maybe if you create a system image, then go to Control Panel/System, in the "Windows activation" section (at the bottom) there should a "ask for genuine Microsoft software" logo, and a "Change product key" link. You could try the new product key you have and see what it does (worst case you can always restore the image).
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks again Coochin - I do a system image each Monday, so I will try it then.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •