Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Word 2010 "Update Field" choice no longer works

    I have created about 18 templates in Word that have fields set up to populate if one right-clicks and chooses "Update Field". These have all been working just fine - up until last week. Now none of the fields will update using "Update Field". Stranger still, if I right-click and choose "Edit Field" instead and close the dialog box (no action necessary), then the field updates.

    This happens in all my templates (both the "Document 1" and the native template files) and on all my workstations. It happens no matter where I begin - I've copied the template file to my desktop from the network to see if it was a security issue.

    Any suggestions?

    Thank you,
    Anne

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,054
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts
    What kinds of fields are these? Are you sure they haven't been locked? Fields can be locked via Ctrl-F11. Ctrl-Shift-F11 unlocks them.
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  3. #3
    Star Lounger pseudoid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    99
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 12 Times in 6 Posts

    Keyboard Shortcuts for Fields

    Quote Originally Posted by AnneO View Post
    ...Now none of the fields will update using "Update Field". Stranger still, if I right-click and choose "Edit Field" instead and close the dialog box (no action necessary), then the field updates.
    Any suggestions?Anne
    I hope the following is relevant:
    13. Fields
    Alt+Shift+d Insert current date (insert DATE field)
    Alt+Shift+p Insert page number (insert PAGE field)
    Alt+Shift+t Insert time (insert TIME field)
    Alt+Ctrl+l Insert LISTNUM field
    Ctrl+F9 Insert an empty field
    Ctrl+Shift+l Insert a LISTNUM field
    Shift+F9 Show or hide field code/result of selected field
    Alt+F9 Show or hide field codes/results of all fields in document
    F9 Update selected fields*
    Alt+Shift+F9 Run GOTOBUTTON or MACROBUTTON from the field that displays the field results
    F11/Shift+F11 Go to the next field/ previous field
    Ctrl+Shift+F7 Update linked information in a Microsoft Word source document
    Ctrl+Shift+F9 Unlink a field
    Ctrl+F11/Ctrl+Shift+F11 Lock a field / Unlock a field
    *to update all fields, select the complete document with ctrl+a, then update fields by pressing F9
    Pasted from < http://www.shortcutworld.com/en/win/...0.html#link_13 >

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by macropod View Post
    What kinds of fields are these? Are you sure they haven't been locked? Fields can be locked via Ctrl-F11. Ctrl-Shift-F11 unlocks them.
    First - sorry for the delay. Couldn't get to sight for a few days.

    They are REF fields to bookmarked information. I tried the Ctrl+F11 and that doesn't make a difference.

    Thanks

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks - so far, the suggestions haven't worked.

    I've even tried to recreate the entire form and the fields and that doesn't seem to work. I think I'm going to have to dig deeper into the situation.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,054
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by AnneO View Post
    I tried the Ctrl+F11 and that doesn't make a difference.
    That's hardly surprising - as I said, you need to use Ctrl-Shift-F11 to unlock locked fields...
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by macropod View Post
    That's hardly surprising - as I said, you need to use Ctrl-Shift-F11 to unlock locked fields...
    Nope (and I actually tried that the first time - I just typed it wrong in the reply).

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,054
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts
    Have you tried repairing the Office installation (via Programs & Features > Microsoft Office > Change in the Windows Control Panel)?
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •