Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 36
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Creston, Br. Columbia
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Audio Players won't recognize sound card

    I have a Realtek HD audio on board (xp machine). Control panel/audio devices says it is working properly. However no audio player can find it. .. I have updated driver. Now what? I must be missing something somewhere somehow.

    Al

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    723
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 146 Times in 132 Posts
    However no audio player can find it

    Please supply more information. Which players? What happens when you start a player? Are there any error messages? External speakers or speakers built into the monitor?

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Creston, Br. Columbia
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Windows Media player, Winamp, adobe audition are 3 players I have tried today. The messages basically say this audio card does not exist. But it does. And Windows says it is working correctly. For some reason the players can't find it. .. No speakers on this one ... it's connected to a Mackie mixer.

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    723
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 146 Times in 132 Posts
    Windows Audio Service should start automatically when the sound card/chip is installed and working. Check that it is running. If its not, it can cause your problem.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Creston, Br. Columbia
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Windows Audio service ... says "started" ... so it should be running.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Creston, Br. Columbia
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Just a thought ... is it possible there might be a registry entry that has been messed up? ... Or am I away off track on that idea?

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Creston, Br. Columbia
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Still haven't found a way to make the onboard audio "card" work. Looks like I'm going to have to find an outboard unit if I want audio on this machine. Grrr.

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Tyler, TX
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Al,

    Don't be so hasty, running out and buying an "external: sound card .... I have never hear of on .... where would you plug it in, and how would it get any audio if the audio is inop on your machine anyway?

    What is is "Mackie mixer"? Are there speaker-out plugs/ports on the PC? Is it a tower or laptop? What is the Mackie plugged into ... USB, RCA, serial port. what?

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Creston, Br. Columbia
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    On board audio card is built into motherboard. ... Some external sound cards use USB. ... Mackie Mixer is a studio audio mixer. In this case one source of audio is from computer, and audio can be sent to computer for recording. Audio, in this case, comes from RCA connectors on computer.

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Tyler, TX
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by AlStewart View Post
    On board audio card is built into motherboard. ... Some external sound cards use USB. ... Mackie Mixer is a studio audio mixer. In this case one source of audio is from computer, and audio can be sent to computer for recording. Audio, in this case, comes from RCA connectors on computer.
    Is this Mackie an external device? What I'm driving at is: where are the "outs" for the left and right audio channels? Even a totally onboard sound system must have a way to get to at least a small onboard speaker?

    is this a laptop?

    Roger

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Creston, Br. Columbia
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    It's a Win XP desktop. ... Audio connection is standard audio cable -- 2 wires .. one for right one for left. One pair for output, another pair for input. Google "Mackie Mixer" and you will see what they look like.

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    are you using skype?

    i have heard that destroys all the other audio

    for best audio info of this type
    try the audacity help forums
    those guys know their stuff
    and you can probably already find the answer if you search without asking for help

    Quote Originally Posted by AlStewart View Post
    I have a Realtek HD audio on board (xp machine). Control panel/audio devices says it is working properly. However no audio player can find it. .. I have updated driver. Now what? I must be missing something somewhere somehow.

    Al

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Creston, Br. Columbia
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Okay speedball .. I'll check out the audacity forum. Thanks for the suggestion.

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    okay al,

    did you get it fixed

    please let us know

    thanks

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Creston, Br. Columbia
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    No, I didn't get it fixed. I have basically given up on the built in "card". I ordered an outboard USB "sound card". Funny thing ... as soon as it is plugged in, the XP computer crashes. Card works fine on a Win 7 machine. So I guess, it looks like I'll have to get a card that goes in the "spare" slot on the motherboard. ... Frustrating.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •