Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Tacoma, Washington, USA
    Posts
    431
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Accessing webpage textboxes after UAC change

    We had a ransom-ware scare a couple weeks back. Been looking for new ways to tighten up security on the network. Yesterday I changed the User Account Control (UAC) settings on all users via Group Policy. I changed them to this:

    Admin Approval Mode for the Built-in Administrator account = Disabled
    Allow UIAccess applications to prompt for elevation without using the secure desktop = Disabled
    Behavior of the elevation prompt for administrators in Admin Approval Mode = Prompt for consent on the secure desktop
    Behavior of the elevation prompt for standard users = Prompt for credentials
    Detect application installations and prompt for elevation = Enabled
    Only elevate executables that are signed and validated = Disabled
    Only elevate UIAccess applications that are installed in secure locations = Enabled
    Run all administrators in Admin Approval Mode = Enabled
    Switch to the secure desktop when prompting for elevation = Enabled
    Virtualize file and registry write failures to per-user locations = Enabled

    Shortly there after I received a report where webpages with textboxes were locking up. We do a lot of online forms for e-filing, research, etc. On webpages with textboxes everything works fine including links, navigation, etc. First time a textbox is used still okay. But when the user tries to enter content in a textbox a second time the page become unresponsive. For example, doing research she can type in a textbox to search and bring up a case on Westlaw. But when she tries to go back and search another term, it won't let her put anything into the search box the second time. Similar thing happens with printing. User can print from a website once but when they print a second time nothing happens. All IE menus unresponsive. Nothing happens with Ctrl + P. Both issues clear if the user closes IE and reopens. A nuisance, though.

    Users have Windows 7 Professional 64bit and Internet Explorer 11.

    It can be recreated on employee workstations. It cannot be recreated on mine, but then I'm an administrator on the network and local administrator on my workstation. Today I have more reports of the same problem. Leads me to believe it is related to the security change above. Anyone else see this happen? Is it related to UAC? If so, what UAC setting needs to change to undo this?
    Daisy

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,203
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    I can't see anything obvious in the changes you made, but it's not an issue I've seen.

    BTW, why do you run your machine using your admin credentials? You should only ever run as a local user and elevate a program when you need to perform admin. You'd be shot (metaphorically) in any organisation I've worked in, or one I'd be interested in working in.

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Tacoma, Washington, USA
    Posts
    431
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Possibly not related to UAC I suppose. I lowered the UAC and still happens for some users. Just got a call from someone who was looking up records on a government site. Worked okay first time, but not after that. Showed her the clumsy workaround. Copy the URL, open a new tab, paste and go to the URL. Fools IE into believing you're going to the page for the first time. Refreshing that first tab does not work. The subsequent tab works for one use as before then sticks. Repeat steps as many times as you need to accomplish what you need from that webpage.

    Nothing in the event logs. IE isn't actually frozen per se. Page nonresponsible. Menus nonresponsible. But can copy URL and open new tabs. Crazy.

    I'm local admin to my machine but limited access across network. I have "big hammer" accounts for that.
    Daisy

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Try running IE in compatibility mode. If that doesn't work, try running with no add ons.

    Jerry

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,735
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 130 Times in 127 Posts
    ?jwittalka, if these online boxes are on a common server, for everyone to access, would it be possible that person X's unlock this file is not working? In my earlier days being a user in a wholesale company, i learned bitsNpieces of common files' lock/unlock function because several users have access to same files...and so on.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Tacoma, Washington, USA
    Posts
    431
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    Try running IE in compatibility mode. If that doesn't work, try running with no add ons.

    Jerry
    Compatibility button is gone in Internet Explorer 11.

    Running with no addons doesn't make a difference.

    Clearing temporary internet files doesn't fix it.
    Daisy

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Tacoma, Washington, USA
    Posts
    431
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RolandJS View Post
    ?jwittalka, if these online boxes are on a common server, for everyone to access, would it be possible that person X's unlock this file is not working? In my earlier days being a user in a wholesale company, i learned bitsNpieces of common files' lock/unlock function because several users have access to same files...and so on.
    Not the same websites. They are a variety of websites with fill-in boxes.
    Daisy

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Compatibility button is gone in Internet Explorer 11.
    The button is gone but you can access it via Gear icon > Compatibility view settings. Might not help but its worth a shot.

    Jerry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •