Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,735
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts

    jwitalka - setting up secondary user id/password combo on all W7 boxes, need help

    jwitalka, you posted in another thread:
    Set up secondary user id/password combos on all the win 7 boxes that match the user id/password of the XP box. Jerry

    That just might help me solve my wireless to wireless problem. When using wireless, sometimes the desktop and one of two laptops will not communicate properly concerning access to each other's D-Drive [data drives].
    I get a popup asking which username and appropriate password. When using only hardwire connect, I very seldom run into the can't access each other's data area. Or, one can access the other, however the "other" cannot access the "one." If the solution above might work for me, how do I go about setting up secondary user/password combo?
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    See http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tuto...ndows-vista-7/
    for the steps to create a new account in Windows 7.

    After the account is created, click on it and then click on create password to assign a password to the account.

    Jerry

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,735
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts
    Lemmie see if I understand. Desktop and one laptop has admin-powered user accounts -pretend the name is Aardvark. 3rd laptop has admin-powered user acct named Llama. All three have the same password. Is the above what you had in mind?
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    All three should have the same user account ID/password combination. In the example you cited, the third laptop would have an admin user account named Aardvark with the common password so that all three computers have the same Aardvark UserID/common password combo installed.

    Jerry

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    RolandJS (2014-11-05)

  6. #5
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,735
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts
    ...and that means all three have to be logged into those three accounts, correct? Meaning, I have to copy all of Llama's settings over into Aardvark acct.
    Eventually, Llama can be deleted.
    Last edited by RolandJS; 2014-11-05 at 13:04.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  7. #6
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    No, you don't have to be logged in and you don't have to copy settings. If perchance a prompt is issued for the userid/password, use the aardvark/pw combo and check remember password.

    Jerry

  8. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    And of course you have to assign the same Workgroup ID to all three computers in the network.

    Jerry

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    RolandJS (2014-11-05)

  10. #8
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,155
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    You could try turning off "password protected sharing" in Network and Sharing Center/Change advanced sharing settings.

    See below screenshot:
    PPS.jpg
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  11. #9
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Turning off password protected sharing should be a last resort as anyone who manages to connect to your network will have access to your files. This is low risk for he home user but is an additional layer of protection.

    Jerry

  12. #10
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,155
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    Turning off password protected sharing should be a last resort as anyone who manages to connect to your network will have access to your files. This is low risk for he home user but is an additional layer of protection.

    Jerry
    In my POV the risk of someone hacking past a properly set up modem/router to gain access to a small network is practically nil. And there is the question "why would they bother with a small network anyhow?"
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  13. #11
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,735
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts
    ahhh, i think i may see something...my security alligators in the castle moat may be fiddling with the Network & Sharing Center settings. I have countless times clicked "turn off password" - only to find it reclicked moments later. Maybe I need reWup the alligators and try resetting N&SCtr again. Will report what happens later.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  14. #12
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Coochin View Post
    In my POV the risk of someone hacking past a properly set up modem/router to gain access to a small network is practically nil. And there is the question "why would they bother with a small network anyhow?"
    Not all routers are set up properly. Even so, I agree the risk is small and I wouldn't lose any sleep if I had to resort to turning off password protection but you should be able to get networking functional without resorting to it. I've set up several systems to network XP and Windows 8 without it. Why give up a layer of protection if you don't need it?

    Jerry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •