Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

    window too small to type into

    i only get 3-4 lines to enter data on the forum windows

    this window here is closer to 9-10 lines

    those small windows are too hard to compose and keep track of a post

    somebody said i could resize them
    but that DOES NOT WORK AT ALL

    if someone can tell me how to make them bigger
    i woudl really appreciate it

    why cant all of them be as big as the window in this discussion area

    why aren't all the window 15-20 lines deep to make it easier to compose and read

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,721
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    You don't say how they could be resized when it didn't work. As far as I can see, you just move your cursor the the bottom right of the reply window and when it turns to a double arrow, move it up (to reduce the window) or down to increase. I've just done this and I will try again to see if it sticks.

    Edit, just tried and my change 'sticks'.
    Last edited by access-mdb; 2014-11-06 at 12:00. Reason: update

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger SpywareDr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Riviera Beach, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    490
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 52 Times in 43 Posts
    At the bottom right of the "Quick Reply" box, click the "Go Advanced" button and you'll get a bit larger Reply window.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,607
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 869 Times in 831 Posts
    If you click on Lounge in the menu bar and scroll down to the bottom, does the dropdown show as Lounge ?

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    will try again

    never got a double arrow

    just a fixed small box that was not changeable

    it would be right friendly if it defaulted to a much larger box initially



    Quote Originally Posted by access-mdb View Post
    You don't say how they could be resized when it didn't work. As far as I can see, you just move your cursor the the bottom right of the reply window and when it turns to a double arrow, move it up (to reduce the window) or down to increase. I've just done this and I will try again to see if it sticks.

    Edit, just tried and my change 'sticks'.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    it does here

    not sure about other discussions
    will have to check that

    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    If you click on Lounge in the menu bar and scroll down to the bottom, does the dropdown show as Lounge ?

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    well that works in this discussion NOW

    i will have to see if it works in other ones next time i encounter it


    Quote Originally Posted by access-mdb View Post
    You don't say how they could be resized when it didn't work. As far as I can see, you just move your cursor the the bottom right of the reply window and when it turns to a double arrow, move it up (to reduce the window) or down to increase. I've just done this and I will try again to see if it sticks.

    Edit, just tried and my change 'sticks'.

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    i think i got the same size

    and doing extra clicks and waiting for new pages is not friendly

    i hope that bottom corner thing works in the other area
    which i need to try again


    Quote Originally Posted by SpywareDr View Post
    At the bottom right of the "Quick Reply" box, click the "Go Advanced" button and you'll get a bit larger Reply window.

  9. #9
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,721
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    Could you attach a screenshot of the window with the box, it may give us a clue what the problem is.

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by speedball View Post
    i only get 3-4 lines to enter data on the forum windows

    this window here is closer to 9-10 lines

    those small windows are too hard to compose and keep track of a post

    somebody said i could resize them
    but that DOES NOT WORK AT ALL

    if someone can tell me how to make them bigger
    i woudl really appreciate it

    why cant all of them be as big as the window in this discussion area

    why aren't all the window 15-20 lines deep to make it easier to compose and read
    You realize the forum software is the same, regardless of the forum you use on the Lounge, right? So there is no way the behavior can be different in different Lounge forums. If you have issues, it surely is your browser, not the forum software.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  11. #11
    4 Star Lounger SpywareDr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Riviera Beach, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    490
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 52 Times in 43 Posts
    When you scroll down the bottom of a thread, this is the size of the Quick Reply box:

    Last edited by SpywareDr; 2014-11-10 at 17:39.

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    no i dont realise that

    there are many sites where similar pages are running different code because of the agile way their hackers fix bugs but dont propagate the fix everywhere

    are you telling me that my browser randomly picks different pages to act differently and that is not the code on the pages causing it but some random function that the browser coders tossed in ?




    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    You realize the forum software is the same, regardless of the forum you use on the Lounge, right? So there is no way the behavior can be different in different Lounge forums. If you have issues, it surely is your browser, not the forum software.

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Yes, I am telling you that it is browser that it is to blame. The forum code is the same for every single forum in the Lounge. My reply window size, which I enlarged from the default, remains the same, regardless of the forum I post in. My favorite browser is Chrome (using the 64 bit version, now).
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  14. #14
    4 Star Lounger SpywareDr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Riviera Beach, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    490
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 52 Times in 43 Posts
    Show us some screenshots of the problem.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •