Lounger
    Thanks

Task bar notification area icons

I'm very new to windows 8, so my reference points are windows 7.

In 7, my notification area includes an icon showing when a USB device is plugged in and an icon showing MSE status. I am trying to get both of these to show on a windows 8 laptop.

On the 8 laptop, I can click the up arrow in the notification area and see an icon showing that a USB device is installed. But I cannot "pin" that icon to the notification area. When I right click to see all the programs that I can include in the notification area, USB device presence is not there. Can someone tell me how to get that icon to show whenever I plug in a USB device without having to click the up arrow?

I have the same problem with Defender. In 7, MSE shows a status icon. Defender does not do this in 8. Defender is not included in the program list opened by right clicking to bring up the list of programs that can be included in the notification area. Is there a way to have defender show a status icon in the notification area on 8?

Thank you

Thanks
    I ran W8 awhile before rolling it back to W7. Meanwhile, have you already tried Control Panel, Notifications -- is there a checkmark on bottom left corner indicating default of show all icons & notifications? If so, you might try removing that checkmark, and, one by one, for each item listed, click on always show icon & notification [I have the exact wording probably wrong]. I found it easier to keep desired icons visible using this "long-way-round" method. I'm assuming you have the choice of "never combine/never hide" in your Start Menu options.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

Silver Lounger
    Thanks
    My Win8.1 Notification Area functions the same as in Win7, click the small Up arrow and choose Customize then make a choice on each item listed from the 3 functions available.