Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Skelmersdale, Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    252
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

    Mouse Pointer getting lost off right side of screen

    The mouse pointer used to stop at the edges of my screen on W7 Ultimate.
    Now it still does on the left edge, but vanishes into the distance off the right side.
    I can't find any settings in Mouse in Control Panel that are relevant, can anyone point me in the right direction to correct this please?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,650
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    Check your display settings, there may be a 2nd monitor defined that the mouse is disappearing into.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,606
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 868 Times in 830 Posts
    I can just about see the edge of mine on the right hand edge of the scroll bar - does yours go further ?

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,720
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 124 Times in 121 Posts
    Also, at times, a dual display may be problematic. Also, unless you're using HDMI to connect computer to external monitor, for some reason, other connections cause a "difference of opinion of what to display" between extMon & PC.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Skelmersdale, Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    252
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
    Browni, you appear to be right.
    Some time ago a small vga monitor was used in addition o the main hdmi unit.

    Now I'm stuck as to how to remove the second monitor, all my attempts in device manager fail - it reappears on rebooting, despite not being present.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    There are several suggestions for disabling the second monitor in this thread:
    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...4-3688d1186a35

    Jerry

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Skelmersdale, Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    252
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
    Thanks jwitalka, the second monitor was disconnected a long time ago.

    However I have found a solution, the Nvidia control panel includes second monitor details and has allowed me to remove it.

    All now functioning normally. Thanks for the advice.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    A1ex,

    Try this:
    1. Right-Click on an empty part of the desktop.
    2. Select: Screen Resolution.
    3. Select your Active screen by clicking on it.
    4. If it is not your MAIN display click the checkbox in yellow.
      A1ex1.JPG
    5. Select the Multiple displays: dropdown and set it for your current display only.
      A1ex2.JPG
    6. Click Apply & OK until you're out.
    7. Done...you shouldn't have to but a re-boot isn't a bad idea.

    HTH

    Update: When I hit save I saw you had it solved. I'll leave this here in case it might be of use to others.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •